Skip to content


Welcome to Eurovision This Month. This is your update of July 2019.

On the 10th of July, five Dutch cities presented their bid books to the organisers of the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest. Representatives from Arnhem, ’s-Hertogenbosch, Maastricht, Rotterdam and Utrecht travelled to the Dutch Media Park in Hilversum.

One week later, the race to become Host City of the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest was narrowed down to two cities: Maastricht and Rotterdam. The organisers from Dutch public broadcasters NPO, NOS and AVROTROS visited both cities and venues. The decision on which of the two cities will get to host the contest is expected to be announced mid-August.

The 2020 edition of Eurovision Young Musicians will be held in Zagreb on the 21st of June. The previous edition of the event took place in Edinburgh and was won by Ivan Bessonov from Russia.

Nineteen countries will participate at the 2019 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Poland later this year. Spain returns to the contest after an absence of 13 years. The contest will be held on the 24th of November in Gliwice-Silesia.

The Eurovision Song Contest is now available to watch on Netflix in the United States. The American company has licensed U.S. video-on-demand rights for the 2019 and 2020 editions of the Eurovision Song Contest.

There is more!

Subscribe to the official Eurovision Song Contest YouTube channel for music videos, live show footage, historic moments, exclusive behind-the-scenes material and our regular updates.

Subscribe to the channel!