Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Eurovision Milestones: 2009

Posted 8 May 2015 at 18:00

Powered by http://www.eurovision.tv

The Eurovision Song Contest 2009 was the 54th edition of the annual Eurovision Song Contest and was hosted by Russia after their win in 2008. It took place between 12 and 16 May 2009 at the Olympic Indoor Arena in Moscow, Russia.

The contest was won by Norway's Alexander Rybak with his self-penned "Fairytale", which received a record-breaking 387 points out of 492, the highest total score in the history of the contest and with a margin of 169 points from the second place which went to Iceland. Third place went to Azerbaijan, fourth to Turkey, and the United Kingdom taking 5th, seeing their best placing since 2002.

Slovakia announced that it would return to the contest, while San Marino withdrew due to financial issues. Latvia and Georgia originally announced their intention to withdraw, but it was later stated by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) that both countries would indeed participate. However, Georgia later decided to withdraw after the EBU rejected its selected song as being a breach of contest rules.

For the very first time in Eurovision history, there were two sets of hosts: Natalia Vodianova and Andrey Malahov were the hosts of the semi-final, while the final was presented by Ivan Urgant and Alsou Abramova.

Share this video
eurovisionsongcontest2009Fairytale (Composition)MoscowNorwayAlexander Rybak