Skip to main content

Here are the winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards 2018!

12 May 2018 at 20:30 CEST
Christer Björkman is handing out the 2018 Marcel Bezençon Awards. Andres Putting
Besides the viewers at home and the music industry professionals who decide upon the actual winner of the Eurovision Song Contest, composers, press, and commentators also award additional prizes: the Marcel Bezençon Awards. This year Bulgaria, France and Cyprus won the prizes.

The Marcel Bezençon Award, named after the founder of the Eurovision Song Contest, was first handed out in 2002, at the initiatve of former Eurovision participants Christer Björkman and Richard Herrey. The Awards are divided into three categories – the Composer Award, the Press Award and the Artistic Award.

Composer Award: Rewarded for the best composition with special consideration given to originality and national identity in music and lyrics: Bulgaria's EQUINOX with Bones.

Press Award: Given to the best song according to the collective vote of the accredited press: France's Madame Monsieur with Mercy.

Artistic Award: Presented to the best artistic performance and voted by the commentators from all countries: Eleni Foureira from Cyprus with Fuego.