Skip to main content

Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards 2016

15 May 2016 at 12:16 CEST
Christer Björkman with winners of the 2016 Marcel Bezençon Awards Thomas Hanses (EBU)

Jamala just didn't take home the top prize in Europe's Favourite Tv Show last night, she was also one of the winners of the coveted Marcel Bezençon Awards.  The annual awards were presented in a ceremony shortly before last night's Grand Final, hosted by Mia Rossling and Christer Björkman. This year the three awards went to three different winners.


The Marcel Bezençon Awards were first handed out during the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest in Tallinn, and founded by Christer Björkman. The awards are named after the creator of Europe's Favourite Tv Show - Marcel Bezençon.

This year the three awards went to the artists and songs that came in the top three positions in the 61st Eurovision Song Contest.

See the video of this year's event below.

The 2016 Marcel Bezençon Awards

Press Award – Given to the best entry as voted on by the accredited media and press during the Eurovision Song Contest: Russia - Sergey Lazarev with You Are the Only One. "Thank you so much" said Sergey "it is great to have this prize."



Composer Award – The best and most original composition as voted on by the participating composers: Australia - Sound Of Silence sung by Dami Im and composed by David Musumeci & Anthony Egizi. About their song "It is Dami Im who made it great" they said.

Artistic Award – Presented to the best artist as voted on by the commentators: Ukraine - Jamala with 1944


Last year the Press Award went to Il Volo from Italy with the song Grand Amore. The artistic Award went to Måns Zelmerlöw for Sweden with Heroes, whilst the Composer Award went to Kjetil Mørland for the Norwegian entry A Monster Like Mesung by Mørland & Debrah Scarlett.

Who would you have voted for in the 2016 Marcel Bezençon Awards? Post your comments below ...