Skip to main content

Who are the hopefuls to represent Estonia?

09 November 2015 at 20:30 CET
Elina Born & Stig Rästa
Only days ago the Estonian broadcaster, ERR, revealed the number of submitted songs to their national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest, Eesti Laul, and today they announced the 20 entries that managed to qualify for the TV shows. And learn how to buy tickets for the final of Eesti Laul 2016!

Next year, in a move to accommodate growing interest in Eesti Laul, the final will be held in the Saku Suurhall, the same venue used for the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest which has capacity for around 5000 seats. Estonian head of delegation, Mart Normet said that "Eesti Laul is growing, so we are expecting a high demand for tickets."

Next year the Eesti Laul green room will be built into the stage, so everyone in the audience can see their favourite artists relax or sweat it out as the show progresses.

Gallery: The latest Eesti Laul winners

For the last week all the former Eesti Laul winners have been counting down until the tickets will be released (see gallery above). Today is the day that Elina and Stig announced that tickets will be on sale tomorrow.

And why at exactly 10:11 on 10/11 you may ask? Well it's because Eesti Laul has always been playful and will continue to be so in the future.

Eesti Laul has become one of the biggest national finals in the Eurovision calendar and is only expected to grow from here, as such it is extending an official welcome to anyone interested from Europe, and beyond, to come experience Eesti Laul in person.

The participants

The 20 semi-finalists of Eesti Laul 2016 were announced during the TV-show Ringvaade. Later they were allocated semi-finals and running order positions. The artists, song titles and composers are as follows:

Semi-final 1 (13th of February 2016):

  1. The Jingles - Love a Little Bit (Jonathan Flack, Hain Hoppe, Rauno Vaher, Tanel Liiberg)
  2. Würffel - I'm Facing North (Kaspar Kalluste, Rosanna Lints)
  3. Mick Pedaja - Seis (Mick Pedaja)
  4. Indrek Ventmann - Hispaania tüdruk (Allan Kasuk)
  5. Cartoon & Kristel Aaslaid - Immortality (Ago Teppand, Hugo MartinMaasikas, Joosep Järvesaar, Kerli Kõiv, Iiris Vesik, Kristel Aaslaid)
  6. Kéa - Lonely Boy (Egert Milder, Robert Stanley Montes, Ian Karell)
  7. Kati Laev - Kaugel sinust (Urmas Kõiv, Anneli Kõiv)
  8. Zebra Island - How Many Times (Rasmus Lill, Helina Risti)
  9. Laura - Supersonic (Sven Lõhmus)
  10. Windy Beach - Salty Wounds (Priit Uustulnd, Tuuli Rand, Mari Tamm)

Semi-final 2 (20th of February 2016):

  1. Go Away Bird - Sally (Stanislav Bulganin)
  2. Jüri Pootsmann - Play (Fred Krieger, Stig Rästa)
  3. Meisterjaan - Parmupillihullus (Jaan Tätte Juunior)
  4. I Wear* Experiment - Patience (Hando Jaksi, Mikk Simson, Johanna Eenmaa)
  5. Púr Múdd - Meet Halfway (Oliver Rõõmus, Joonas Alvre)
  6. Grete Paia - Stories Untold (Sven Lõhmus)
  7. Põhja-Tallinn - Ei ole mul olla (Jaanus Saks, Kristjan Soomre, Mark Eric Kammiste, Hannes Agur Vellend, Herlend-Kaspar Raudkivi)
  8. Anett Kulbin - Strong (Anett Kulbin)
  9. Gertu Pabbo - Miljon korda (Priit Pajusaar, Maian-Anna Kärmas)
  10. La La Ladies - Unikaalne (Tatjana Mihhailova, Mihkel Mattisen, Timo Vendt, Inga Tislar)

As in previous years, five songs will qualify through each semi-final through a 50/50 mixture of jury and televoting. The final, with ten songs, will take place in the Saku Suurhall on the 5th of March 2016.

While it is up to each individual artist and their management to decide when to release their entries, all songs must be online by mid-december.