Skip to main content

This is what to expect in the first Semi-Final of Eurovision 2019

13 May 2019 at 23:44 CEST
First Semi-Final opening 2019 Thomas Hanses
In tonight's first Semi-Final, 17 countries will take to the stage at Expo Tel Aviv. Last year's Eurovision winner Netta Barzilai will open the show with a rearrangement of her victorious song 'Toy' and 1998 winner Dana International will appear for a special interval act. Tune in tonight at 21:00 CEST!

The first Semi-Final of the 64th Eurovision Song Contest is brought to you by the European Broadcasting Union and Israeli public broadcasting corporation KAN. The spectacle will be hosted by four hosts; Bar Refaeli, Erez Tal, Assi Azar and Lucy Ayoub.

ALSO READ: The hosts of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest

DOWNLOAD: The official app (second screen info, easy voting, selfie layers and more!)

Netta is back!

Reigning Eurovision queen Netta Barzilai will open the first Semi-Final with a special version of her winning entry Toy. With a troop of male and female backing dancers performing in her winning outfit from last year and in red high heeled shoes, she will surely get the party started in Tel Aviv.

READ MORE: Netta will be performing in the Grand Final too

Tonight's 17 competing acts

Tonight's first Semi-Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will see 10 countries with the highest points totals qualify for the Grand Final, set to take place this Saturday.

  1. Cyprus - Tamta with Replay
  2. Montenegro - D mol with Heaven
  3. Finland - Darude feat. Sebastian Rejman with Look Away
  4. Poland - Tulia with Fire of Love (Pali się)
  5. Slovenia - Zala Kralj & Gašper Šantl with Sebi
  6. Czech Republic - Lake Malawi with Friend Of A Friend
  7. Hungary - Joci Pápa with Az Én Apám
  8. Belarus - ZENA with Like It
  9. Serbia - Nevena Božović with Kruna
  10. Belgium - Eliot with Wake Up
  11. Georgia - Oto Nemsadze with Keep On Going
  12. Australia - Kate Miller-Heidke with Zero Gravity
  13. Iceland - Hatari with Hatrið mun sigra
  14. Estonia - Victor Crone with Storm
  15. Portugal - Conan Osiris with Telemóveis
  16. Greece - Katerine Duska with Better Love
  17. San Marino - Serhat with Say Na Na Na

You can vote for your favourite songs if you are in one of the 17 participating countries, Israel, Spain or France. Voting lines open as soon as the hosts announce it.

Yesterday, during the second Dress Rehearsal, or Jury Show, the international juries have already cast their vote — their vote counts for 50% of the tonight's result — for the first Semi-Final.

DOWNLOAD OR STREAM: Your favourite Eurovision 2019 songs

TUNE IN: Where to watch the show tonight

Kiss with Dana International

The interval act in the first Semi-Final will feature Israel's third Eurovision Song Contest winner, Dana International. She will sing her own version of Bruno Mars' Just The Way You Are with images from the Expo Tel Aviv kiss-cam.

Shining a light on 3 pre-qualified finalists

The 3 pre-qualified finalists for Saturday's Grand Final that also vote in the first Semi-Final — France, Spain and host nation Israel — will also make an appearance in tonight's show.

While the voting lines are open, participants Miki, Bilal Hassani and Kobi Marimi will be interviewed and clips of their dress rehearsal performances are shown so that viewers get to know the artists and their songs.

Juries have already cast their vote!

Juries from the 17 participating countries along with France, Spain and Israel (3 of the 6 pre-qualified finalists) have voted in the second dress rehearsal, or Jury Show, on Monday 12 May. This second dress rehearsal is a full run-through of the show and is recorded and sent via satellite link to all broadcasters for their juries to watch.

READ MORE: Find out more about the juries and how they vote here

Follow #Eurovision on social media, download the app, grab a drink, get some snacks and tune in for the first Semi-Final tonight at 21:00 CEST. Enjoy!

Who is your favourite to qualify in the first Semi-Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest?