Skip to main content

What to expect for Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light

15 May 2020 at 20:16 CEST
Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light NPO/NOS/AVROTROS
The time is finally here! After 6 weeks of preparation, Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will be broadcast tomorrow, 16 May, at 21:00 CEST. In place of what would have been Rotterdam's Grand Final, the show will celebrate the artists chosen for 2020, the support of its fans and the event's incredible resilience. From what you'll see to where to watch, here is all you need to know.

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will bring audiences across Europe and around the world together in celebration. The show, airing in place of the Grand Final of the 65th Eurovision Song Contest, is brought to you by the European Broadcasting Union and its Dutch Members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS. It will be hosted by Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley (Eurovision 1998 and 2007) and Jan Smit, live from Hilversum, the Netherlands.

Presenters: Edsilia Rombley, Chantal Janzen en Jan Smit NPO/NOS/AVROTROS

The 2020 Online Host will be NikkieTutorials.

ALSO READ: Meet the hosts of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020

Where to watch

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light will be broadcast live across Europe by public broadcasters of both participating and non-participating countries.

WATCH HERE: The complete list of broadcasters who air the show.

You can also stream the show live on the official Eurovision Song Contest YouTube channel. The live show is expected to last approximately 2 hours and will be available worldwide except for the United Kingdom and Ukraine.

What to expect

The show was envisioned to honour the 41 selected delegates from the participating countries of 2020 in a non-competitive format. Aside from celebrating their entries, the show will also bring them together, from their locations across Europe, in a unifying performance of Eurovision 1997's Love Shine A Light by Katrina And The Waves.

As one of many special features of the show, the EBU will bring Eurovision fans together for an unforgettable virtual sing-a-long on screen. Fans from across the world will dress up and form a huge Eurovision choir and sing Johnny Logan's What's Another Year.

Megababe Johnny Logan, Ireland EBU

Given the challenging times we are going through, a diverse collection of performances from across Europe will set out to connect us all through music. Michael Schulte (Germany, 2018) will accompany Ilse DeLange from The Common Linnets (the Netherlands, 2014) performing the song of Germany’s first winner (Nicole, 1982) and Israel’s 1979 winner, Gali Atari, will sing her hit Hallelujah alongside a choir featuring past participants from the Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light stage EBU / Kris Pouw

Other performances include Sweden’s Måns Zelmerlöw singing his 2015 winning song Heroes, Marija Šerifović the 2007 winner for Serbia and Netta (Israel, 2018) contributing a moving acoustic version of a new song with a special message about these unusual times. As a special treat, reigning Eurovision champion Duncan Laurence will premiere his brand new song, Someone Else, during the show. There will be a host of other surprise acts throughout the night, too - you won't want to miss this!

Tune in on Saturday 16 May at 21:00 CEST to celebrate with us!