The official website of the Eurovision Song Contest
Ten winners from the first Semi-Final
Lisbon, Portugal
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Eurovision Song Contest
Official partner
The Native

We have our first ten finalists

Gordon Roxburgh
Gordon Roxburgh
Posted 10 May, 2016, 23:02

Tonight in the first show of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, broadcast live from the Globe Arena, 18 countries took part in the first Semi-final in order to qualify for the 10 places available in Saturday's final. We now have our ten qualifiers, and they are as follows; in the order they were announced.

  • Azerbaijan
  • Russia
  • The Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Armenia
  • Czech Republic
  • Cyprus
  • Malta
The ten winners will shortly have a press conference where they will also draw their position to be in either the first or second half of the Grand Final.

The first Semi-Final contenders

  1. Finland: Sing It Away sung by Sandhja
  2. Greece: Utopian Land sung by Argo
  3. Moldova: Falling Stars sung by Lidia Isac
  4. Hungary: Pioneer sung by Freddie
  5. Croatia: Lighthouse sung by Nina Kraljić
  6. Netherlands: Slow Down sung by Douwe Bob
  7. Armenia: LoveWave sung by Iveta Mukuchyan
  8. San Marino: I Didn't Know sung by Serhat
  9. Russia: You Are The Only One sung by Sergey Lazarev
  10. Czech Republic: I Stand sung by Gabriela Gunčíková
  11. Cyprus: Alter Ego sung by Minus One
  12. Austria: Loin d'ici sung by ZOË
  13. Estonia: Play sung by Jüri Pootsmann
  14. Azerbaijan: Miracle sung by Samra
  15. Montenegro: The Real Thing sung by Highway
  16. Iceland: Hear Them Calling sung by Greta Salóme
  17. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Ljubav Je sung by Dalal, Deen, Ana & Jala
  18. Malta: Walk on Water sung by Ira Losco
The first Semi-Final concludes The first ten finalists (beside those already known,Sweden, Germany, France, Italy, Spain and United Kingdom), will take part in the Grand Final of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place on Saturday the 14th of May. Another ten finalists will be chosen in the second Semi-Final on 12th of May. 18 Songs: 21 countries voted
The result was determined by a combination of national expert juries and televoting. The combined scores created the final outcome. In yesterday's Jury Final, the expert juries already determined their votes for the first Semi-Final by watching a live feed of the performances. Televoting took place tonight during the transmission of the live show. If you missed the show, you can still watch it here. Who were your favourites tonight? Let us know below.
Gordon Roxburgh
Gordon Roxburgh
ArmeniaAustriaAzerbaijanCroatiaCyprusCzech RepublicHungaryMaltaRussiaThe NetherlandsqualifiersStockholmpress2016newsfinalists
Share this story


About this image
Ten winners from the first Semi-Final © Thomas Hanses (EBU)