Skip to main content

Watch now: Ukraine decides for Stockholm

21 February 2016 at 19:02 CET
Andrei Danilko, Ruslana and Konstantin Meladze, the jury panel in the Ukrainian final STB
Tonight, the Ukrainian national final kicks off in Kyiv, starting at 18:00 CET. Six acts will perform on the STB stage and give their best to amaze the experienced jury panel and the whole country. All artists are popular in Ukraine and supported by many fans. Watch with us the Ukrainian final to find out who Ukrainians want to see on stage in Stockholm!

After two exciting semi-finals in Ukraine, six acts have been sent to the final by the professional jury panel and TV viewers. In tonight's show, the singers will appear on stage in the following order: 

  1. Brunettes Shoot Blondes - Every Monday
  2. NeAngely (NuAngels) - Higher
  3. The Hardkiss - Helpless
  4. Jamala - 1944
  5. SunSay - Love Manifest
  6. Pur:Pur - We Do Change

Listen to the finalists' songs

Tonight's finalists

Brunettes Shoot Blondes

Brunettes Shoot Blondes is an indie rock band based in Kyiv, Ukraine, formed at the beginning of 2010. In 2014 the band released a self-produced music video for the song Knock Knock which immediately became a worldwide viral hit. With over 6 million views on YouTube, it was called an Internet sensation and positively reviewed by such medias as Billboard, Yahoo! Music, The Daily Mirror, USA Today and many others.

The band’s songs and videos are now on rotation on various radio and TV stations. The musicians have already performed numerous shows and festivals in their homeland and on the stages of Europe. Currently Brunettes Shoot Blondes is working on their debut album and looking for a record label. 

Tonight Brunettes Shoot Blondes will perform their song Every Monday.

NeAngely (NuAngels)

The iconic pop duo from Ukraine are famous for its outstanding powerful voices and striking charisma of its vocalists. NuAngels are two female singers Victoria and Slava. The duo was created by Yuri Nikitin. A song Higher for this year’s national Ukrainian selection was written by Alexander Bard, Andreas Öhrn and Chris Wahle.

The Hardkiss 

The band Hardkiss consists of five members: Julia Sanina (lead singer), Val (guitar), Kreechy (drums), Roman Skorobagatko (guitar), Vitaliy Oniskevich (keyboards). They are known with their appearances at different international festivals like MIDEM festival, Park Live, Koktebel Jazz Festival etc. In 2012 The Hardkiss were the nominees of the international MTV EMA award ("Best Ukrainian Act") and of the national music award YUNA, having won in two nominations - "The best new act" and "The best music video" (Make-Up). In 2013 The HARDKISS became "voice and face" of the PEPSI TM in Ukraine and the nominees of YUNA in the nomination "The best band".

Tonight the band will perform their "fresh and trendy" rock ballad Helpless.


Jamala is a Ukrainian singer of Crimean Tatar descent. She performs music of her own composition in different genres from jazz, soul, rhythm&blues to pop. Jamala is known to Eurovision fan as a participant in the Ukrainian national final in 2010 where she inspired the audience with her cheerful song Smile. In 2014 Jamala starred in the Ukrainian drama film The Guide that was selected as the Ukrainian entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 87th Academy Awards.

Jamala’s song 1944 is inspired by the tragical story of her great-grandmother.


The band SunSay was formed in 2007. The lead singer Andrei 'Sun' Zaporozhets was a member of the band 5’nizza that disbanded in 2007 and reunited in 2015.

Group’s first album was the unreleased material of 5’nizza. SunSay performs funk, reggae, soul and folk style. The second album Driver was released in 2010.

Andrei Zaporozhets said that he never watched the Eurovision Song Contest before. The band came to the contest to show that Ukrainian music can also be of a high quality. Tonight SunSay will sing their entry Love Manifest.


Pur:Pur was founded in 2008 in the city of Kharkiv and became popular through Internet. Pur:Pur consists of three members: Nata Smirina (lead vocal), Evgeni Zhebko (guitar), Gregori Oleynik (drums). The band performs indie-rock, jazz and bossa nova. Pur:Pur sang at various festivals like Gogol-Fest, Stereoleto and others. For the Ukrainian national semi-final the band prepared the song We Do Change.

In tonight's show the winner will be chosen by a joint decision of tele and jury voting (50/50). The professional jury panel consists of Andrei Danilko aka Verka Serduchka, the Ukrainian participant in the 2007 Eurovision Song Contest, Ruslana, who brought home a victory with her entry Wild Dances in 2004, and Konstantin Meladze, the famous producer and composer. The show will be hosted by Dimitri Tankovich and Aleksander Pedan who already made a great job in this year's semi-finals. 

In case there is a tie between two competitors, the singer with the highest number of points from the audience will get the ticket to Stockholm. You can watch the show live on our WebTV Player