Skip to main content

Watch Ireland make their choice tonight!

28 February 2014 at 04:33 CET

On The Late, Late Show special tonight, host Ryan Tubridy will present the five songs that are in contention for EuroSong 2014, and a combination of juries and televoting will determine which song will represent Ireland in the Second Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest on Thursday the 8th of May.

Last October  RTÉ nominated five mentors with proven experience in the Irish music industry and asked them each to select an act and a song which they believe has the potential to be a Eurovision Song Contest winner.

Watch our interviews with each of the five finaists.

The Participants

The songs will be performed in the following order:

  1. Don't Hold On sung by Patricia Roe (Composed by Patricia Roe). Mentored by Valerie Roe.
  2. The Movie Song sung by Eoghan Quigg (Composed by Karl Broderick). Mentored by Mark Murphy.
  3. Heartbeat sung by Can-linn, featuring Kasey Smith (Composed by  Hazel Kaneswaran, Jonas Gladnikoff, Rasmus Palmgren and Patrizia Helander). Mentored by Hazel Kaneswaran.
  4. Be Mine sung by Andrew Mann (Composed by Cormac Battle).Mentored by Cormac Battle.
  5. You Don't Remember Me sung by Laura O'Neill (Composed by Don Mescall and Lucie Silvas). Mentored by Billy McGuiness.

The Voting

As in previous years, Ireland’s Eurovision entry will be selected by a combination of public and regional jury vote.

You can watch the videos of the songs on the Late, Late Show EuroSong website. The programme starts at 22:35 CET and can be watched on our webplayer.


  • Ireland are the most successful nation in the Eurovision Song Contest having won seven times, in 1970, 1980, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1996.
  • Johnny Logan is the only singer to win the contest twice, with What's Another Year in 1980 and his self composed entry, Hold Me Now in 1987. He also composed the winning song in 1992, Why Me? sung by Linda Martin.
  • Dublin has hosted the contest more times that any other city, an impressive six times; in 1971, 1981, 1988, 1994, 1995 and 1997.
  • Ireland has qualified for the Grand Final for the last four years, thanks to (former winner )Niamh Kavanagh in 2010, Jedward  in 2011 and 2012 and Ryan Dolan in 2013.
  • Although they have won the contest the most times, Ireland have also come last twice, in 2007 and in 2013, though they have never yet received the dreaded 'nul points'.