Skip to main content

Visa Europe becomes Official Partner of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest

26 February 2016 at 17:57 CET
Visa Europe will be the preferred payment partner for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm Visa
Visa Europe, one of the largest payment providers in the world, has been announced as an Official Partner of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.

Visa Europe is at the heart of the payments ecosystem providing the services and infrastructure to enable millions of European consumers, businesses and governments to make electronic payments. Visa Europe will be preferred payment partner for the event which will take place in Stockholm in May.

“We are pleased to welcome the world’s number one payment provider, Visa, as a sponsor of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. Visa Europe has an established track record sponsoring some of the biggest events in the world, which makes us even more proud to have them on board”, said Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Mark Antipof, Chief Officer, Sales & Marketing at Visa Europe, said “The Eurovision Song Contest is a massively popular event across Europe with television viewing figures in the hundreds of millions and is a major draw for visitors to the host city. We’re delighted to be sponsoring this year’s Contest and to enable those attending in Stockholm to experience the speed and convenience of contactless payments. Together with key stakeholders Visa Europe will be creating contactless acceptance across the Eurovision venues as well as showcasing the technology of contactless payments and other contactless experiences.”

As Official Partner of the Eurovision Song Contest, Visa Europe has been granted extensive pan-European association, event, media and new media rights for the upcoming 61st edition of the event.

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest will open with Semi-Finals on 10th and 12th May, the Grand Final will be held on 14th May at the Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden. The shows will be co-produced by the Swedish broadcaster SVT and the EBU.