The official website of the Eurovision Song Contest
Lisbon, Portugal
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Eurovision Song Contest
Official partner

Two Semi-Finals Eurovision Song Contest in 2008

Posted 11 January, 2008, 0:12

All countries will be grouped into two Semi-Finals, with the exception of France, Germany, Spain, the United Kingdom, and Serbia, who will automatically qualify for the Final. "We are convinced that the introduction of a second Semi-Final contributes to a more stable future for the Eurovision Song Contest," said Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest.
"We carefully listened to the suggestions of Members and fans and we took notice of the critical remarks in the press. After evaluating several scenarios, we decided to introduce a second Semi-Final already in 2008. This increases the fairness of the competition, opens doors to a more interesting Final and production-wise, it is the most flexible solution," added Mr. Stockselius.
The Eurovision Song Contest is an annual competition for active members of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), represented by the public broadcasters in their respective countries. The first contest was held in Lugano, Switzerland in 1956. Since then, the contest has become a true European tradition. In 2007, the contest was held in Helsinki, Finland, celebrating its 52nd anniversary. Next year it will be held in Belgrade, Serbia.

For more information

2008ebuBelgradeformatpress release
Share this story


Official partnerVisa
Official partnerJacobs
Official lighting partnerOsram
Official sponsorLvivske
Official partnerThe Native
Eurovision, operated by EBU
© European Broadcasting Union 2002-2017.All rights reserved. Website by Scrn.