Skip to main content

Trijntje Oosterhuis wins the Barbara Dex Award

07 June 2015 at 14:37 CEST
Trijntje Oosterhuis winner of the Barbara Dex Award Andres Putting (EBU)
This year's Barbara Dex Award has been won by Trijntje Oosterhuis from the Netherlands. The parachute like outfit gave the Netherlands a landslide victory with 1324 votes from the 4163 valid votes received.

The Barbara Dex Award has been annually awarded by the fan website House of Eurovision since 1997, and is a humerous award given to the worst dressed artist each year in the contest. It is named after the Belgian artist, Barbara Dex, who came last in the 1993 contest, in which she wore her own self designed (awful) dress.

Trijntje Oosterhuis from the Netherlands finished way ahead of Bojana Stamenov from Serbia in second place with 605 votes and Electro Velvet from the United Kingdom who finished in third place with 397 votes. There was a record breaking 4163 votes received.

At her first rehearsal in Vienna, Trijntje Oosterhuis had worn a different and very revealing outfit that had attracted a lot of attention. In the first Semi-Final she opted for a different outfit, which was the outfit that ultimately won her the Barbara Dex Award.

The top ten from 2015

  1. Netherlands - 1324 votes
  2. Serbia - 605 votes
  3. United Kingdom - 397 votes
  4. Albania - 263 votes
  5. Moldova - 237 votes
  6. Georgia - 195 votes
  7. Iceland - 148 votes
  8. Latvia - 135 votes
  9. Finland - 125 votes
  10. Armenia - 97 votes

In 2014 the award was won by Vilija Matačiūnaitė from Lithuania. A full list of previous winners can be found on the House of Eurovision website, as well as the full results from this year.

Who do you think should have won the Barbara Dex Award?