Skip to main content

Tonight: Watch Ireland select their EuroSong

24 February 2012 at 02:01 CET

Tonight in The Late, Late Show special, host Ryan Tubridy will present the five songs in contention in EuroSong 2012, and a combination of juries and televoting will determine which song will represent Ireland in the First Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest on the 22nd May in Baku.

The songs will be performed in the following order - (composers names in brackets);

1. Mistaken ( Edele Lynch) sung by Celtic Whisper with Maria McCool. Mentored by Edele Lynch (singer/songwriter).

2. Mercy (Marten Ericsson, Peter Mansson, Lina Ericsson and Bill Hughes) sung by Donna McCaul. Mentored by Bill Hughes. (Independent television producer).

3. Here I Am (Greg French) sung by Andrew Mann. Mentored by Greg French (Music producer/songwriter).

4. Language Of Love (Éanán Patterson and Julian Benson) sung by Una Gibney and David Shannon. Mentored by Julian Benson (Agent and choreographer).

5. Waterline (Nick Jarl) sung by Jedward. Mentored by Linda Martin (Eurovision winner 1992).

Two of the acts have had previous experience of representing Ireland in the Eurovision Song Contest; Donna McCaul was one half of Donna and Joseph McCaul, who came 14th in the Semi-Final in the 2005 contest with the song Love?, and Jedward finished in eighth place in the Final in 2011 with the songLipstick.

During the interval in tonight's show, Brotherhood Of Man, who won the 1976 contest for the United Kingdom, will perform their winning song Save Your Kisses For Me.

You can join viewers of RTÉ One, and watch EuroSong 2012 on from 22:35 CET.