Skip to content
The finalists of Melodifestivalen 2016
The finalists of Melodifestivalen 2016
Photo: Stina Stjernkvist (SVT)

Tonight: Melodifestivalen final in Sweden

The time is now for Sweden to pick the home entry for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. The popular national selection Melodifestivalen is coming to an end tonight with the big final taking place at the Friends Arena in Stockholm. Hosted by Gina Dirawi & William Spetz, you can watch it in the Melodifestivalen official website live at 20:00 CET.

  • The line-up

This is the order of appearance in which the artists will perform tonight:

  1. Panetoz - Håll om mig hårt
    (Jimmy Jansson, Karl-Ola Kjellholm, Jakke Erixson, Pa Modou Badjie, Njol Badjie, Nebeyu Baheru)
  2. Lisa Ajax - My Heart Wants Me Dead
    (Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad)
  3. David Lindgren - We are Your Tomorrow
    (Anderz Wrethov, Sharon Vaughn, Gustav Efraimsson)
  4. SaRaha - Kizunguzungu
    (Anderz Wrethov, Sara ”SaRaha” Larsson, Arash Labaf)
  5. Oscar Zia - Human
    (Oscar Zia, Victor Thell, Maria Smith)
  6. Ace Wilder - Don’t Worry
    (joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad, Ace Wilder)
  7. Robin Bengtsson - Constellation Price
    (Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström, Mark Hole, Martin Eriksson)
  8. Molly Sandén - Youniverse
    (Molly Sandén, Danny Saucedo, John Alexis)
  9. Boris René - Put Your Love on Me
    (Boris René, Tobias Lundgren, Tim Larsson)
  10. Frans - If I Were Sorry
    (Oscar Fogelström, Michael Saxell, Fredrik Andersson, Frans Jeppsson Wall)
  11. Wiktoria - Save Me
    (Jens Siverstedt, Lauren Dyson, Jonas Wallin)
  12. Samir & Viktor - Bada nakna
    (Fredrik Kempe, David Kreuger, Anderz Wrethov)
Gallery: Sweden: Melodifestivalen 2016 finalists

The 2015 Melodifestivalen and Eurovision Song Contest winner, Måns Zelmerlöw, will perform a very special version of his winning song Heroes in the interval act. A nostalgia medley of hits from the last 15 years of Melodifestivalen, featuring the original artists, will also be performed while the votes are being cast. Besides the beloved Lynda Woodruff, played by Sarah Dawn Finer, will also make a comeback.

Lynda Woodruff, character played by Sarah Dawn Finer
Lynda Woodruff, character played by Sarah Dawn Finer © SVT

The voting

In the final of Melodifestivalen 2016, 50% of the points are awarded by the viewers and 50% by a jury that consists of eleven European jury groups. The viewers allot a total of 473 points, the same amount of points as the eleven jury groups will be allotting. The jury groups this year come from the following countries:

  • Australia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Estonia, France, Israel, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia.

While the European jury groups are delivering their votes, the Swedish viewers can still go on voting. The voting will be stopped five minutes after the European jury groups have given their points in order to give the Swedish viewers an opportunity to vote having seen the results of the European jury groups.
Last year Melodifestivalen released an app. The viewers can vote using the app during the live broadcast competition, and the maximum number of app votes per song is five.
Viewers cannot vote from a foreign country or with a foreign country telephone card.
Who would you like to win Melodifestivalen and represent Sweden in Stockholm? Tell us below!