Skip to main content

Tonight: Juries vote in Eurovision 2019 second Semi-Final

15 May 2019 at 16:10 CEST
Stage 2019 Thomas Hanses
The second Semi-Finalists will be singing for the international juries today. These experts from the 18 participating countries, along with the United Kingdom, Italy and Germany, will cast their votes worth 50% of the total scores. The other half will be decided tomorrow Thursday 16 May by televote during the live show. Combining the results will determine which ten acts will proceed to the Grand Final on Saturday 15 May.

Tonight, the 18 countries competing in the second Semi-Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will take to the stage for the second of 3 dress rehearsals, which doubles as the Jury Show. Along with judges from the United Kingdom, Italy and Germany, they will vote on the performances by ranking each song in their order of preference.

The countries competing in the second Semi-Final are:

  1. Armenia - Srbuk with Walking Out
  2. Ireland - Sarah McTernan with 22
  3. Moldova - Anna Odobescu with Stay
  4. Switzerland - Luca Hänni with She Got Me
  5. Latvia - Carousel with That Night
  6. Romania - Ester Peony with On A Sunday.
  7. Denmark - Leonora with Love Is Forever
  8. Sweden - John Lundvik with Too Late For Love
  9. Austria - PÆNDA with Limits
  10. Croatia - Roko with The Dream
  11. Malta - Michela with Chameleon
  12. Lithuania - Jurij Veklenko with Run With The Lions
  13. Russia - Sergey Lazarev with Scream
  14. Albania - Jonida Maliqi with Ktheju tokës
  15. Norway - KEiiNO with Spirit In The Sky
  16. The Netherlands - Duncan Laurence with Arcade
  17. North Macedonia - Tamara Todevska with Proud
  18. Azerbaijan - Chingiz with Truth

Judges will watch the show via an internal broadcast over the Eurovision Network. They cannot vote for the country they represent. Earlier today, a full run-through of the show took place at the Expo Tel Aviv in front of press and fans.

May we have your votes, please?

Each country's public broadcaster appointed 5 music industry professionals as jury members to cast their vote. Their rankings are combined per country, where the most popular song receives 12 points, the next receives 10, then 8, 7 and so on, all the way to 1 point for their 10th most favourite song.

To ensure maximum suspense, their individual rankings will be published on this website shortly after the Grand Final on 18 May. Judges are not allowed to reveal their vote ahead of the Grand Final.

From 18 to 10

Tomorrow's 10 qualifying acts will join the 10 countries that qualified in last night's first Semi-Final and the 6 pre-qualified finalists. That means that for 8 countries that dared to dream, the Eurovision experience will end tomorrow evening. Contestants will, therefore, be more than determined to give their all in tonight's Jury Show.

How do juries decide?

The juries decide their points based on 4 key elements:

  • Vocal capacity of the singer;
  • Performance on stage;
  • Composition and originality of the song;
  • Overall impression of the act.

READ MORE: These are the judges who will vote in Eurovision 2019!

Your vote

Your vote tomorrow will provide the remaining 50% of the points.

After the voting lines have closed, Digame, the EBU's official voting partner of the Eurovision Song Contest, will aggregate the jury and televoting data. Under the supervision of the EBU and EY notaries, the scores are then verified and the 10 countries that have qualified for the Grand Final are announced.

Do not forget to download the official app, your second-screen guide and easy voting companion during the live shows!