Skip to main content

Tonight: Juries decide 50% of the Eurovision 2019 result

17 May 2019 at 16:44 CEST
The heat is on for the second Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest. Andres Putting
In tonight's dress rehearsal of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final, the international juries from all 41 of this year's participating countries will watch via an internal broadcast and cast their votes. That means that 50% of the votes for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest will be decided tonight and revealed after the televoting in tomorrow's live show closes, so there is everything to play for.

Tonight, the national juries from the 26 countries competing in the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final vote alongside the 15 countries that were eliminated in the two Semi-Finals earlier this week. Each jury consists of a chairperson and four additional judges.

Judges will watch the show via an internal broadcast over the Eurovision Network. Of course they can not vote for the country they represent. Earlier today, a full run-through of the show took place at the Expo Tel Aviv in front of press and fans.

May we have your votes, please?

Each country's public broadcaster appointed 5 music industry professionals as jury members to cast their vote. Their rankings are combined per country, where the most popular song receives 12 points, the next receives 10, then 8, 7 and so on, all the way to 1 point for their 10th most favourite song.

The running order of 26 songs that the juries will vote on.

The running order was announced shortly after the result of the second Semi-Final.

READ MORE: Find out how the running order is decided by the Contest Producer.

How do juries decide?

As with the Semi-Finals, all jurors decide their points based on 4 key elements:

  • Vocal capacity of the singer;
  • Performance on stage;
  • Composition and originality of the song;
  • Overall impression of the act.

READ MORE: These are the judges who will vote in Eurovision 2019!

Your vote

Your vote tomorrow will provide the remaining 50% of the points.

After the voting lines have closed, Digame, the EBU's official voting partner of the Eurovision Song Contest, will aggregate the jury and televoting data. Under the supervision of the EBU and EY notaries, the scores are then verified and the 10 countries that have qualified for the Grand Final are announced.

Don't forget to download the official app, your second-screen guide and easy voting companion during the live shows!

How did the juries vote in the Semi-Finals?

Right after the Grand Final, the breakdown voting from both the international juries and the international televotes will be revealed here on Judges are not allowed to reveal their vote ahead of the Grand Final.

Do you think the winner of the jury vote will be declared the Eurovision Song Contest winner after the televotes are counted? Let us know in the comments below!