Tonight: Germany to pick singer and song

In no less than seven preliminary heats, the candidates of the German national selection Unser Star für Oslo have been narrowed down from 20 to just two. In the semi-final, held on Tuesday this week, the two finalists were chosen in two voting rounds out of four remaining singers: Lena Meyer-Landrut and Jennifer Braun managed to convince the televoters in the end and proceeded to the all-female final tonight.

The mode of the final show has been explained in a graphic way on the website of the radio channel N-Joy, which is an official supporter of the German national selection. First, each singer will present three songs to the public, out of which two are the same but have been arranged in a different way, while one of the songs has been written especially for Jennifer and Lena, respectively. In the first voting round, the public will then pick their one favourite song for each singer, which will be performed again afterwards. In the second voting round, the public will then choose the German entry for the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest out of the two final acts.

Neither the authors nor the titles of the selected songs will be made public before the final in order not to influence the public, who will decide the outcome of tonight's show, explained Stefan Raab. The latter is not only the inventor of Unser Star für Oslo, but also has tight connections with the Eurovision Song Contest: He wrote the German entries for the 1998 and 2004 Eurovision Song Contests, and in 2000, he reached the fifth place for Germany with Wadde Hadde Dudde Da. Furthermore, he is also a jury member in the show - however, the jury panel will only comment on the performances and leave the decision entirely to the public. The other jury members will be Stefanie Kloß, lead singer of the band Silbermond, and Xavier Naidoo. The show will be presented by Matthias Opdenhövel and Sabine Heinrich.

Who will be the winner tonight, and what surprise expects the viewers when the authors of the winning entry will be revealed? In fact, Stefan Raab did not rule out that he could have written one or more of the competing songs himself. Stay with us not to miss any detail about the German national selection! The show will be broadcast tonight at 20:15 on Das Erste. A webcast will be made available on the broadcaster's website.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Lena (Germany)

Lena Meyer-Landrut gets German ticket to Oslo

10 years ago

Lena and Jennifer proceed to German final

10 years ago

Four left in German race for Oslo

10 years ago