Tonight Denmark selects for Belgrade

Tonight at CET 20:00 at Horsens Forum, Danish televoters will choose who will defend the white and red colours at the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest in Belgrade. Tonight's hosts are Camilla Ottesen and Adam Duvå Hall, who also hosted last year's event.

443 songs were submitted to this year's Danish preselection. 16 of these were accepted and devided into two semi-finals, which took place on January 12th and 19th. Through SMS vote, 4 songs of each semi-final were sent directly to the final. The remaining two songs of the final were selected through a radio wildcard selection. Last year's Danish Eurovision Song Contest participant DQ was in fact selected to go to the Danish final through this radio wildcard selection process and eventually was chosen to represent Denmark in Helsinki. 

Successful Danish singer Anna David and Jamie Scott & The Town will also be on stage tonight, performing in between the 10 finalists and the voting procedure.

 Who will be taking part?

The line-up of songs in order of representation is as follows:

  1. Anne-Marie & Claus Hassing - Come On Over
  2. Simon Mathew - All Night Long
  3. Amin Jensen - Luciano
  4. Kendra Lou - Until We're Satisfied  (wildcard)
  5. UNITE - Tree of Life
  6. Lasse Lindorff - Hooked On You (wildcard)
  7. Charlie - Den Jeg Er
  8. Lars & Josefine - Sweet Memories of You
  9. The Dreams - La' Mig Være
  10. Sandee May - Spanish Soul

According to NordicBet, Danske Spil and Scandic Bookmakers, the entries with the highest possibility of winning the Danish national preselection are Simon Mathew and The Dreams. 

After the presentation of the 10 songs, the Danish public will be selecing  their favourite through televoting. The finalist with most points will be sent to Belgrade in order to represent Denmark at the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest. Denmark will be participating in the second Semi-Final on May 22nd in Belgrade.

Comments 💬

Related stories

Interview: meets Simon Mathew

12 years ago

Denmark gets ready for Melodi Grand Prix

12 years ago

Denmark: 50% more songs submitted

11 years ago