Skip to main content

Tonight: Danish national final live from Horsens

13 February 2016 at 08:30 CET
The Stage
Tonight 10 acts will battle it out for the right to represent Denmark at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm. The winner will be decided by a combination of jury and public votes. 

Where and when?

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, the Danish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest will be broadcast live from the city of Horsens. You can watch all the action on the official website of the Danish broadcaster, DR. The show begins at 20:00 CET. The show will be presented by Jacob Riising, Hilda Heick and Annette Heick.

Gallery: In Photos: The Dress Rehearsal

Voting format

This year the votes will be decided by a combination of public and jury votes, each accounting for 50% of the total score. The three most popular songs will be performed again only this time the result will be determined purely by the public. This year DR has introduced a new app which can also be used to vote alongside SMS votes. The jury consists of choreographer Vicky Leander, singer Christina Chanée, songwriter John Gordon, fan Mette Thorning Svendsen and radio host Dennis Johannesson. Christina Chanée, along with Tomas N'evergreen, represented Denmark in the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest finishing in 4th place. John Gordon wrote the winning song for Germany in 2010; Satellite, performed by Lena.

The participants

The ten participants in the 2016 edition of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix are as follows:

  • Anja Nissen – Never alone
  • Bracelet – Breakaway
  • David Jay – Rays of sunlight
  • Jessica – Break it good
  • Kristel Lisberg – Who needs a heart
  • Lighthouse X – Soldiers of love
  • Muri & Mario – To stjerner
  • Simone – Heart shaped hole
  • Sophia Nohr – Blue horizon
  • Veronicas Illusion – The wrong kind

Denmark will participate in the Second Semi Final of the Eurovision Song Contest on Thursday 12th May 2016. On the last two occasions when Sweden hosted the Eurovision Song Contest (2000 and 2013), Denmark won!

Which act would you like to see represent Denmark in Stockholm?