Tonight: Armenia to select Eurovision entry


In tonight's national final, the act to represent Armenia in Oslo will be chosen. The hosts of the show, to be broadcast live from the National Opera Theatre in Yerevan, will be Gohar Gasparyan and Khoren Levonyan. Initially, ten songs had been selected for the national final by an expert jury, but the song Never, to be performed by Sonya, was withdrawn from the competition, thus only nine entries remain. On Thursday, the running order of the finalists was drawn in a special TV show, with one of the special guests being Lys Assia, the winner of the first ever Eurovision Song Contest, in 1956. This is the running order:

  1. Another Story - Ays Dzmer
  2. Ani Arzumanyan - The Mermaid Song
  3. Meline Beglaryan - We Must Believe
  4. Emmy & Mihran - Hey (Let Me Hear You Say)
  5. Davit Ashotyan - Infected Dreams
  6. Nick Egibyan - Countdown
  7. Maria Kizirian - Little Red Riding Hood
  8. Razmik Amyan - My Love
  9. Eva Rivas - Apricot Stone

The decision who will represent Armenia in Oslo will be jointly taken by the TV public, who can cast their votes by SMS, and an expert jury. The show will be broadcast live  from 18:40 CET on Armenian TV, which can be received via satellite all over Europe (via Hotbird 13°E) and Northern America.

Armenia participated in the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in 2006 and has been very successful ever since, reaching the final in every year so far. The best placing to date was gained by Sirusho in 2008, who came fourth with Qélé Qélé.


tags Armenia 2010 national selection news

Comments 💬