Skip to main content

Today: Watch the Semi-Final Allocation Draw!

04 February 2010 at 10:55 CET

During the Semi-Final Allocation Draw, it will be determined which countries will be represented in which of the two Semi-Finals of the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest. Who will conduct the draw is still Oslo's biggest mystery...

The 34 countries represented in the Semi-Finals will be drawn from five pots, based on voting patterns of last years as analyzed by the contest's voting partner Digame. By spreading these countries over two Semi-Finals, the impact of neighbour- and diaspora voting is limited and the contest more exciting.

Half of the countries will be drawn into the first Semi-Final (on the 25th of May), the other half into the second Semi-Final (on the 27th of May). As part of the draw, it will also be determined if those countries will perform in the first or second half of the respective Semi-Final, so that each delegation already knows this Sunday on which day they are expected in Oslo for the rehearsals in May. can exclusively reveal what those five pots look like:

Pot 1: Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Pot 2: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden

Pot 3: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Israel, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine

Pot 4: Armenia, Belgium, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, the Netherlands, Turkey

Pot 5: Bulgaria, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia

There will also be a draw to decide which of the two Semi-Finals the so-called 'Big Four' (France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom) and host country Norway will be obliged to broadcast and vote in.

The next draw, to decide upon the starting order of the songs in each Semi-Final and the Final, will be conducted - as usual - at the Heads of Delegation meeting in March.

 You can watch the draw live here on today on 14:00 CET and we are updating you live through our Twitter feed!