Skip to main content

This weekend: Denmark, Finland, Portugal & Sweden choose their acts

06 March 2020 at 19:00 CET
UMK2020, Finland's national selection Yle / Mona Salminen
We're now 3 days away from the artist and song submission deadline for the Eurovision Song Contest, and the last 4 artists will be selected on Saturday 7 March. Tune in this weekend for the results of Denmark's 'Melodi Grand Prix', Sweden's 'Melodifestivalen', Finland's 'UMK' and Portugal's 'Festival da Canção', and 2 song announcements from Bulgaria and North Macedonia.

With 37 acts now confirmed, we anxiously await the last 4 national selection finals to hit the air. As we have for the past weekends, we will provide you with extensive coverage on the latest news from Europe as the announcements come in.

Saturday 7 March

Listen to Bulgaria's Tears Getting Sober

VICTORIA will represent Bulgaria at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam. The artist was announced at a press conference in Sofia, organized by the Bulgarian public broadcaster Bulgarian National Television (BNT) and her producers from Ligna Studios, last November.

VICTORIA’s distinctive voice and style position her as one of the most promising new music artists from the country.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix chooses their winner

20:00 CET - Dansk Melodi Grand Prix (WATCH LIVE)

Participants Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 DR

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 will be held on 7 March in the Royal Arena in Copenhagen. A mix of well-known Danish singers and new talent graces the lineup of this year's Danish national selection. Public broadcaster DR presents the 10 acts in the running to represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020.

The running order of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2020 will be:

  1. Isam B – Bølger (LISTEN)
  2. Ben & Tan – Yes (LISTEN)
  3. Maja og De Sarte Sjæle – Den eneste goth i Vejle (LISTEN)
  4. Benjamin Kissi – Faith (LISTEN)
  5. Emil – Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig (LISTEN)
  6. Sys Bjerre – Honestly (LISTEN)
  7. Jamie Talbot – Bye Bye Heaven (LISTEN)
  8. Sander Sanchez – Screens (LISTEN)
  9. Kenny Duerlund – Forget It All (LISTEN)
  10. Jasmin Rose feat. Roxor Loops – Human (LISTEN)

Kenny Duerlund, Ben & Tan and Sander Sanchez were selected from the online regional semi-final, and Jamie Talbot and Emil were the wildcards selected by the jury in the same process. The other 5 artists, Benjamin Kissi, Isam B, Jasmin Rose feat. Roxor Loops, Maja og de sarte sjæle and Sys Bjerre, were pre-selected by an internal committee.

Read more about the artists here.

Sweden's Melodifestivalen comes to a close

20:00 CET - Melodifestivalen (WATCH LIVE)

All 28 participating acts of 'Melodifestivalen 2020' SVT

Last week, the 'Andra Chansen' round added 4 new artists to the previously chosen 8 for this week's final. The 12 artists taking the stage this weekend, in running order:

  1. Victor Crone - Troubled Waters (WATCH)
  2. Paul Rey - Talking In My Sleep (WATCH)
  3. The Mamas - Move (WATCH)
  4. Mohombi - Winners (WATCH)
  5. Hanna Ferm - Brave (WATCH)
  6. Mendez feat. Alvaro Estrella - Vamos Amigos (WATCH)
  7. Dotter - Bulletproof (WATCH)
  8. Robin Bengtsson - Take A Chance (WATCH)
  9. Mariette - Shout It Out (WATCH)
  10. Felix Sandman - Boys With Emotions (WATCH)
  11. Anna Bergendahl - Kingdom Come (WATCH)
  12. Anis Don Demina - Vem e som oss (WATCH)

Finland selects its winner!

20:00 CET - UMK 2020 (WATCH LIVE)

Finalists of Finland's national selection 'UMK2020' Yle / Mona Salminen

This year, 6 artists are competing for the win in Finland's nationals selection show UMK:

1. Catharina Zühlke - Eternity (WATCH)

2. Erika Vikman - Cicciolina (WATCH)

3. Aksel Kankaanranta - Looking Back (WATCH)

4. F3M - Bananas (WATCH)

5. Sansa - Lover View (WATCH)

6. Tika - I Let My Heart Break (WATCH)

Read more about the artists here.

Finnish broadcaster YLE will broadcast the final live on their website. People living in Finland can vote for their favourite during the live broadcast. The songs and performances will also be scored by an international jury; the combination of votes and scores will determine the winner.

Festival da Canção

22:00 CET - Festival da Canção (WATCH LIVE)

Trophy of Portugal's Festival da Canção 2020 RTP

The final of the 52nd edition of the Portuguese national selection, Festival da Canção, will be broadcast live from Elvas on Saturday. After 2 semi-finals, the following 8 songs made it through to this weekend's final:

  1. Filipe Sambado - Gerbera Amarela do Sul
  2. Jimmy P - Abensonhado
  3. Tomás Luzia - Mais Real Que O Amor
  4. Elisa Rodrigues - Não Voltes Mais
  5. Throes + The Shine - Movimento
  6. Kady - Diz Só
  7. Elisa - Medo de Sentir (Marta Carvalho)
  8. Bárbara Tinoco - Passe-Partout

Sunday 8 March

North Macedonia releases YOU

Vasil, North Macedonia's Eurovision 2020 representative Martin Trajanovski

MKRTV, North Macedonia's public broadcaster, chose Vasil to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam last January. Vasil was part of Tamara Todevska’s Eurovision team as a backing vocalist at last year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv.

The North Macedonian entry will be announced on Sunday at 20:00 CET live on Macedonian Radio Television and simultaneously the music video will be available for streaming on YouTube.

Which shows are you looking forward to the most this weekend? Let us know in the comments!