Skip to main content

This is what to expect in the Grand Final of Eurovision 2019

18 May 2019 at 19:52 CEST
First semi-final stage 2019 Andres Putting
The day has come! After months of preparation and two Semi-Finals, acts from 26 countries will compete in the Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. The result will be determined by a combination of expert juries and viewers from all 41 participating countries. The show will feature special guest performances from reigning Eurovision queen Netta, former winners Dana International, Conchita Wurst and Måns Zelmerlöw, as well as Eurovision icon Verka Serduchka. And... earlier this week we could also confirm that Madonna will perform as guest star during the show!

The Grand Final of the 64th Eurovision Song Contest is brought to you by the European Broadcasting Union and Israeli public broadcasting corporation KAN. The show will be hosted by Bar Refaeli, Erez Tal, Assi Azar and Lucy Ayoub, live from Expo Tel Aviv.

ALSO READ: The hosts of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest

DOWNLOAD: The official app (second screen info, easy voting, selfie layers and more!)

Tonight's 26 competing acts

Tonight's Grand Final will see acts from 26 countries compete for the title of 2019 Eurovision Song Contest winner. They represent the 10 countries with the highest points from each of the two Semi-Finals that took place earlier this week, along with the 'Big Five' — France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom — and host nation Israel.

First Semi-Final on 14 May

Second Semi-Final on 16 May

Tonight's acts are:

  1. Malta - Michela with Chameleon
  2. Albania - Jonida Maliqi with Ktheju tokës
  3. Czech Republic - Lake Malawi with Friend of a Friend
  4. Germany - S!sters with Sister
  5. Russia - Sergey Lazarev with Scream
  6. Denmark - Leonora with Love Is Forever
  7. San Marino - Serhat with Say Na Na Na
  8. North Macedonia - Tamara Todevska with Proud
  9. Sweden - John Lundvik with Too Late For Love
  10. Slovenia - Zala Kralj & Gašper Šantl with Sebi
  11. Cyprus - Tamta with Replay
  12. The Netherlands - Duncan Laurence with Arcade
  13. Greece - Katerine Duska with Better Love
  14. Israel - Kobi Marimi with Home
  15. Norway - KEiiNO with Spirit In The Sky
  16. United Kingdom - Michael Rice with Bigger Than Us
  17. Iceland - Hatari with Hatrið mun sigra
  18. Estonia - Victor Crone with Storm
  19. Belarus - ZENA with Like It
  20. Azerbaijan - Chingiz with Truth
  21. France - Bilal Hassani with Roi
  22. Italy - Mahmood with Soldi
  23. Serbia - Nevena Božović with Kruna
  24. Switzerland - Luca Hänni with She Got Me
  25. Australia - Kate Miller-Heidke with Zero Gravity
  26. Spain - Miki with La Venda

Can't wait to hear the music? Download or stream your favourite Eurovision 2019 songs here.

You can vote for your favorite songs if you are in one of the 41 participating countries, regardless of whether your country made it through the Semi-Finals.

The opening act

After her victory last year, the honor of opening the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest falls to last year's winner Netta Barzilai. She will get the party started along with Israel's previous Eurovision winner, Dana International and Israel's first ever Eurovision representative, Ilanit.

As has become a tradition since the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö, the Grand Final will open with a flag parade to introduce the 26 competing entrants before the Eurovision Song Contest begins.

The interval act

Switch song

As was already announced last month at the host broadcaster press conference, a special 'switch song' act is planned for the Grand Final featuring former Eurovision winners and runners up:

At the end all four artists will join Gali Atari on stage to perform her 1979 winning song, Hallelujah.

Netta goes bananas

Just before time runs out on Netta's reign as Eurovision Queen, she will perform her new song Nana Banana. If you want to sing along, there's still time to learn the words in Netta's lyric video.

TUNE IN: Where to watch the show tonight

Please give it up for... Madonna!

International pop icon Madonna will perform 2 songs during the Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest on 18 May: Her 1989 smash hit 'Like A Prayer' and a world exclusive of brand-new single 'Future', which she will perform together with American rapper Quavo.

The most exciting part: The voting!

Last night, during the Jury Final, the national juries from all 41 participating countries already cast their vote. Their vote counts for 50% of tonight's result.

READ MORE: Find out more about the juries and how they vote here.

You determine the other half of the outcome. You can vote starting as soon as the hosts open the lines, as soon as the last contestant has performed. As soon as the voting lines have closed, Digame, the EBU's official voting partner of the Eurovision Song Contest, will aggregate the televotes from all participating countries. Under the supervision of the EBU and EY notaries, the scores are then verified.

First, all 41 spokespersons will reveal the jury points. From each country the points 1-8 and 10 will appear and the scoreboard, the spokesperson will then reveal that country's 12 points. Next, all countries’ televoting points will be added together, to be revealed starting at the bottom of the scoreboard, working towards a thriller finale.

Close to 1:00 CEST we will finally know the winner of the 64th Eurovision Song Contest.

Follow #Eurovision on social media, download the app, grab a drink, get some snacks and tune in for the Eurovision Grand Final tonight at 21:00 CEST. Enjoy!

Who is your favorite to win the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest?