Skip to main content

TEO is the Belarusian hope for Copenhagen!

10 January 2014 at 23:51 CET

Like last year, tonight’s show has been hosted by the experienced hosts Olga Ryzhykova and Denis Dudinskiy. In the beginning of the final, they announced the names of eight members jury. Among them were Michail Revutski, Aleksander Merzenny, Eduard Martynyuk, Elena Treshchinskaya, Aleksander Tihanovich and Alyona Lanskaya. Afterwards, the rules for the televoting have been explained: the viewers could call on the special numbers or send sms for their favourites just after all entries have been sung.

The finalists performed different and original in their own ways musical styles, from the powerful ballads with opera elements till pop songs. Natalia Tamelo started the competing part of the show with her cheerful entry Not What I've Been Looking For. The band Nuteki contrasted with their rock song Fly Away. Artem Mikhalenko wrote his own composition Rapsodia No.1 in which The Four Season by Vivaldi were combined with some dub-step elements.

This was the line-up of tonight's final (in order of appearance):

  1. Natalia Tamelo - Not What I've Been Looking For
  2. Nuteki - Fly Away
  3. Artem Mikhalenko - Rapsodia No.1
  4. Matvei Cooper and band DUX - Strippers
  5. TEO - Cheesecake
  6. Daria - Starlight
  7. Elena Siniavskaya - Via Lattea
  8. Alina Moshchenko - Angel Crying
  9. Janette - You Will Be Here
  10. Anastasia Milashevskaya - Runaway
  11. Switter Boys feat. Kate&Volga Karol - Vechnaya Lubov (Love Forever)
  12. Band Napoli - Stay With Me
  13. Max Lorens & Didyulya - Now You're Gone
  14. Tasha Odi - Empty Universe

After all the competing songs have been performed, the public was treated with performances of Alyona Lanskaya and Ruslan Alehno who who took part in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2014 and 2008. Alexej Gross who withdrew from this year's national final came to support the participants. The national stars Joanna, Eliz, Lena Voloshina, Gunesh, the bands Beatris and Aura sang for the public. Polina Smolova who participated in Europe’s favourite show in 2006 also entered the stage.

Alexsander Solodukha, the popular Russian and Belarusian singer also sang for the TV viewers and the public in the BTRC studio 600.

In the end, Max Lorens & Didyulya and TEO got the same number of points from the viewers and the jury. So the jury had to decide for whom they gave their points once more. TEO got the most of "hearts" from the experts.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

TEO’s real name is Juri Vashchuk. The lyrics of his entry Cheesecake has been written by Juri himself. The contestant told about the meaning of his song: "It’s not about the dessert at all". Cheesecake is Juri’s nickname that his ex-girlfriend gave to him. Although the singer is bored of this nickname, he says: "This song suits my mood and I feel absolutely comfortable performing this entry".