Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Ten fantastic acts revealed in Denmark

Posted 16 January 2013 at 12:03

Today, at a press conference at DR Byen in Copenhagen, ten high-quality acts were presented to the waiting press and fans.
These will all take to the stage in Herning on the 26th of January to compete in the 2013 edition of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.
Eight of the ten entries were chosen from a total of 692 entries that were submitted in the autumn whilst the other two were handed wildcards by the DR production team.
You can listen to clips of all ten entries on dr.dk/melodigrandprix.

The Ten Acts

In the order they will perform, these are the ten acts participating in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2013:
Jeg har hele tiden vidst det
Performed by: Frederikke Vedel Written by: Pernille Georgi, Thomas Reil, Jeppe Reil
Performed by: Brinck Written by: Niels Brinck
I'm Not Alone
Performed by: Kate Hall Written by: Lars Halvor Jensen, Martin Larsson, Michelle Bell, Oscar Holter, Jakke Erixson, Simon Hermansen
Rejs dig op (Wildcard)
Performed by: Louise Dubiel Written by: Casper Lindstad, Rune Braager, Louise Dubiel
We Own The Universe
Performed by: Daze Written by: Thomas G:son, Peter Boström
Stay Awake
Performed by: Simone Egeriis Written by: Lars Halvor Jensen, Carsten Lindberg
Invincible (Wildcard)
Performed by: Jack Rowan featuring Sam Gray Written by: Achmad Darwich, Jack Rowan, Sam Gray
Only Teardrops
Performed by: Emmelie de Forest Written by: Lise Cabble, Julia Fabrin Jakobsen, Thomas Stengaard
Beautiful To Me
Performed by: Albin Written by: Brian Risberg Clausen, Mads Haugaard
Performed by: Mohamed Written by: Morten Friis, Michael Parsberg, Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing
{ImageGallery#Preview: 71573},
Some familiar names are taking part in this year's competition, most notably Brinck who represented Denmark at the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow with the song Believe Again where he came 13th in the final.
Thomas G:son, who composed Sweden's winning entry in 2012, Euphoria, has together with Peter Boström composed Daze's entry and Simone Egeriis who came third in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix in 2010 with How Will I Know is back this year with Stay Awake.

The Biggest Final Ever

On the 26th of January, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2013 will take place at the Boxen Arena in Herning, making it the biggest Danish final ever. Here, only one song can be crowned the winner with the choice being made in the following way:
The voting format is similar to what we saw last year. In the first round all ten songs can be voted for, after which three qualify to the final. In both rounds, the viewers have 50 percent of the vote whilst the five person strong professional jury has the final 50 percent.
{ImageGallery#Preview: 67223},
"When we have heard the three finalists again, each judge will give 1, 2 and 3 points respectively to the songs. We will thus get each judge's individual opinion and a song can therefore be awarded a maximum of 15 points from the jury", explains editor Theresa Valbæk.
"The jury has a total of 30 points they can award and the viewers have the same. The viewers' 30 points will be decided by percentage, which means that if one of the songs gets 50 percent of the votes, it translates into 15 points. In theory one song can achieve a maximum of 45 points - 15 from the judges and 30 from the viewers", she concluded.

Winning song closes the show

One other change compared to last year is that we will be able to hear the winning song once more at the end of the show.
"It's the highlight of the evening being able to hear the winner again. So we are going to extend that euphoria that emanates from a happy winner on stage with tears in their eyes and masses of celebration around. Its amazing to get these three extra minutes", says Theresa.
Every Danish final has its special moments that are written into the history books and that is also the case this year, she promises.
"In addition to ten fantastic songs, you are going to remember 2013 for being a differently hosted show than you are used to. More, I cannot reveal".

A closer look at the participants

Over the next two days we will take a closer look at the ten acts in two articles so remember to keep an eye out for them!
Whichever of the ten acts above wins Dansk Melodi Grand Prix will have the honour representing Denmark in the first Semi-Final of the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest to be held in Malmö, Sweden on the 14th of May.
MalmöDenmarknewspress conferenceHerningDRartistsDansk Melodi Grand Prix2013national selection
Share this story