Skip to main content

Swedish pop group Alcazar to reunite for the Grand Final

10 May 2024 at 15:55 CEST
Alcazar will be appearing at the Grand Final in Malmö
For one night only, SVT has managed to persuade one of the most iconic Swedish pop groups of all time to reunite... Alcazar!

At the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, ABBA's historic victory with Waterloo, which happened 50 years ago, is in focus and being celebrated. 

And reunited in Malmö to kick off the tribute are a Swedish band beginning with 'A' that have been a huge favourite in the Eurovision universe for decades - Alcazar!

The deities of disco-pop have competed 5 times in the Swedish pre-selection for Eurovision, Melodifestivalen. But they've never made it to the Contest. Until now!

Per Blankens, TV producer for the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, says:

"If there's anyone who can get the festive atmosphere we want to create in the Malmö Arena to celebrate the 50th anniversary, it's Alcazar. That's why we're so happy that we found a fun way to involve them so they could reunite with us for one evening."

Alcazar - made up of Andreas Lundstedt, Lina Hedlund and Tess Merkel - will put on a show that will get the party properly started as we wait for those results to come in.

As well as their Melodifestivalen hits Not A Sinner Nor A Saint, Alcastar, Stay The Night, Headlines and Blame It On The Disco, the trio have enjoyed international chart hits such as Crying At The Discotheque, This Is The World We Live In, Sexual Guarantee, Physical and Don't You Want Me.

Tune in at 21:00 CEST on Saturday 11 May.


You can listen to all 37 songs of Eurovision 2024 via your favourite streaming service or watch the music videos on our YouTube channel.

The Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Malmö, Sweden on Tuesday 7 May (First Semi-Final), Thursday 9 May (Second Semi-Final) and Saturday 11 May (Grand Final) 2024.

Don't forget to download our app (for iOSAndroid), sign up to the official Eurovision Song Contest newsletter, and subscribe to the official podcast!