Skip to main content

Sweden: Molly Sandén and Frans to the final

27 February 2016 at 22:26 CET
Frans and Molly Sandén
The Swedish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest, Melodifestivalen 2016, just held its fourth semi-final in Gävle. The seven last songs fought for two further places in the final which went to Molly Sandén and Frans.

The Melodifestivalen tour moved to Gävle for the fourth semi-final of Sweden's national selection for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. Alongside Gina Dirawi this time, on hosting tasks, it was Sarah Dawn Finer. 

After the lines were closed the presenters announced the results of the fourth semi-final of Melodifestivalen 2016. These two were the winners and thus proceed to the final in Stockholm:

  • Molly Sandén - Youniverse
  • Frans - If I Were Sorry

Two further songs will get a second chance in the so-called Andra Chansen round:

  • Dolly Style - Rollercoaster
  • Panetoz - Håll om mig hårt

The line-up of the fourth semi-final

These are the seven songs that took part in tonight's fourth semi-final, alongside their final placing:

  1. Eclipse - Runaways (5th)
    (Erik Mårtensson)
  2. Dolly Style - Rollercoaster (Andra chansen)
    (Thomas G:son, Peter Boström, Alexandra Salomonsson)
  3. Martin Stenmarck - Du tar mig tillbaks (6th)
    (David Stenmarck)
  4. Linda Bengtzing - Killer Girl (7th)
    (Mattias Kallenberger, Andreas Berlin, Linda Bengtzing, Dag Öhrlund)
  5. Frans - If I Were Sorry (Final)
    (Oscar Fogelström, Michael Saxell, Fredrik Andersson, Frans Jeppsson Wall)
  6. Panetoz - Håll om mig hårt (Andra Chansen)
    (Jimmy Jansson, Karl-Ola Kjellholm, Jakke Erixson, Pa Modou Badjie, Njol Badjie, Nebeyu Baheru)
  7. Molly Sandén - Youniverse (Final)
    (Molly Sandén, Danny Saucedo, John Alexis)

What's next?

The Melodifestivalen 2016 Tour comprises six shows. The top two songs in the semi-finals, chosen by televoting and app voting, qualified for the final. The songs placed third and fourth in each of the semi-finals will compete in the second chance round Andra Chansen:

  • Andra Chansen:

The second chance round will be held in Halmstad on Saturday 5th of March. Hosted by Gina Dirawi, Peter Jöback & Ola Salo. There will be four duels and the winner of each duel will go to the final:

  1. Panetoz - Håll om mig hårt ⇔ Molly Pettersson Hammar - Hunger
  2. Albin & Mattias Rik ⇔ Boris René - Put Your Love On Me
  3. Isa - I Will Wait ⇔ SaRaha - Kizunguzungu
  4. Dolly Style - Rollercoaster ⇔ Samir & Viktor - Bada Nakna
  • The Final:

Will take place at the Friends Arena in Stockholm on Saturday 12th of March. Hosted by Gina Dirawi & William Spetz. Before the four acts from Andra Chansen join them, this is how the list of finalists looks like so far:

  • Ace Wilder - Don’t Worry
    (joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad, Ace Wilder)
  • Robin Bengtsson - Constellation Price
    (Bobby Ljunggren, Henrik Wikström, Mark Hole, Martin Eriksson)
  • David Lindgren - We are Your Tomorrow
    (Anderz Wrethov, Sharon Vaughn, Gustav Efraimsson)
  • Wiktoria - Save Me
    (Jens Siverstedt, Lauren Dyson, Jonas Wallin)
  • Oscar Zia - Human
    (Oscar Zia, Victor Thell, Maria Smith)
  • Lisa Ajax - My Heart Wants Me Dead
    (Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad)
  • Frans - If I Were Sorry
    (Oscar Fogelström, Michael Saxell, Fredrik Andersson, Frans Jeppsson Wall)
  • Molly Sandén - Youniverse
    (Molly Sandén, Danny Saucedo, John Alexis) 

Who would you like to have a second chance and be in the Final in Stockholm? Tell us below!