Skip to main content

Sun Stroke Project & Olia Tira for Moldova!

06 March 2010 at 23:31 CET

Two semi-finals with 15 participating acts each had been held on the 27th and 28th of February to select the 14 finalists who competed in tonight's final. All three shows were held in Studio 2 of the national broadcaster TRM's headquarters in the national capital of Chisinau.  Iurie Gologan and Dianna Rotaru presented the final, while Lucian Dumitrescu interviewed the participating artists in the green room. During the interval act, the dancing group Teodor performed to hits of Michael Jackson and Lady Gaga, among others. As a special guest, InGrid performed during the show. In the end, the results of a combination of televoting and the verdict of an expert jury were announced - it is as follows (in order of appearance, winner in bold):

  • Doinita Gherman - Meloterapia 
  • Valeria Tarasova - See You Soon
  • Sun Stroke Project & Olia Tira - Run Away
  •  Pasha - You Should Like
  • Dyma - Manipulate
  •  Pavel Turcu - Imn Eurovision 
  • Eugen Doibani - Love Sweet Love 
  • Boris Covali - No Name
  • Carolina Gorun - Addicted
  • Gicu Cimbir - Cine Sunt Eu
  • Millenium - Before You Go
  • Cristina Croitor - My Heart
  • Monkey Mind & Daniela - Smile
  • Alexandru Manciu - Ramii Langa Mine

Thus, Sun Stroke Project & Olia Tira will follow the footsteps of  Nelly Ciobanu, who had reached the 14th place with Hora Din Moldova in the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest. They received the maximum of twelve points both from the jury and the televote. Olia Tira had participated already in the 2009 Moldovan national final, reaching the 4th place with Unicul Meu, as well as Sun Stroke Project, who came 3rd in the same year with No Crime. Thus, it turned out to be successful for them to team up for this year! They will represent their home country in Oslo with Run Away.