Skip to content

Stephane & 3G to represent Georgia in Moscow

In a very entertaining show, which was presented by Nika Lomidze, the Georgian entry for the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest was picked tonight. The song lyrics and the stage performances of some participants reminded of quite a few well-known personalities. This is the list of the singers and songs in the national final (in order of appearance):

  • Bachi Kitiashvili & Bermukha - Khvalindeli Dghe
  • November - Over
  • Giorgi Maisuradze - Peace In The World
  • Tika Phatsatsia - Miracle
  • Tony O'Malley, Mari Pavliashvili, Marika Asatiani, Nana Chikava, Andro Melashvili, Guga Aphtsiauri - Hear My Plea
  • Nodiko Tatishvili - No Sun When You Are Near
  • Boris Bedia - Dagvipharavs Ghmerti
  • Stephane & 3G - We Don't Wanna Put In
  • Anri Jokhadze - I
  • Keti Orjonikidze - Hang Out

In the interval act, the winners of the 2008 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, Bzikebi - translating as "Wasps" - performed their song Bzzz. After a retrospective of the two most recent Eurovision Song Contests, the results of the combined voting were announced:

  1. Stephane & 3G - We Don't Wanna Put In
  2. Keti Orjonikidze - Hang Out
  3. Boris Bedia - Dagvipharavs Ghmerti

Thus, Stephane & 3G will represent Georgia in Moscow. The trio 3G consists of Nini Badurashvili, Tako Gachechiladze and Kristine Imedadze, and they had already taken part in the 2008 national final, reaching the fourth place with their song I'm Free. This year, they were joined on stage by the well-known singer and producer Stephane Mgebrishvili to sing the disco song We Don't Wanna Put In. You can watch the video of their performance here:


Georgia was represented in the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in 2007, when Sopho came 12th with her song My Story. Last year, Diana Gurtskaya improved that record by one place, reaching the 11th place with Peace Will Come. Georgia will take part in the First Semi-Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, to be held on May 12th in Moscow.