Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Spanish finalists officially confirmed

Posted 8 Febuary 2010 at 15:11

Last Friday at 12:00 CET, the online voting to choose the 10 performers that proceed to the Spanish final, was officially closed but it was announced then that the final list would only be confirmed on Monday morning, after a more thorough validation of the votes.
Re-arrangings in the list of candidates took place twice during the voting process, including the elimination of two of the most controversial leaders of the voting, PopStar Queen and El Pezón Rojo. Both acts were removed due to a breach of rules and now the final list of participants looks like this:
  • Coral - En Una Vida (292.522 votes)
  • John Cobra - Carol (269,919 votes)
  • Lorena - Amor Mágico (188,778 votes)
  • Samuel y Patricia - Recuérdame (188,470 votes)
  • Daniel Diges - Algo Pequeñito (187,391 votes)
  • Fran Dieli - Cuando Se Trata De Ti (187,213 votes)
  • Venus - Perfecta (183,753 votes)
  • Anabel Conde - Sin Miedos (182,528 votes)
  • José Galisteo - Beautiful Life (180,145 votes)
  • Ainhoa Cantalapiedra - Volveré (176,912 votes)
Most names are well-known faces to the competition: Anabel Conde represented Spain in the 1995 Eurovision Song Contest placing 2nd, Coral was the runner-up of the 2008 Spanish final, while Ainhoa Cantalapiedra was one of the three finalists in 2003 as Operación Triunfo (OT) II winner. Lorena, Samuel y Patricia, Fran Dieli, Venus and José Galisteo are also OT ex-contestants. John Cobra already took part in last year's internet selection and Daniel Diges is a musical star who is currently touring Spain with ABBA's Mamma Mia.
The date of the national final show is yet to be confirmed.
TVE offered their viewers the chance to pick the participants of their national final through the internet already in the last two years, which produced a record-breaking number of visits on their website but less satisfactory rankings in Europe's favourite TV show, placing 16th with Rodolfo Chikilicuatre in 2008 and 23rd with Soraya last year.
newstu pais te necesitaSpainnational selections2010
Share this story