Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Spain chooses on the 22nd of February

Posted 16 Febuary 2010 at 11:58

In a few days time the ten candidates that made it through the final of Tu Pais Te Necesita will finally take to the stage of the TVE studios to try to become Spain's entry in Oslo. TVE announced that the date of their national selection will be Monday, the 22nd of February at 22:15 CET.
The ten hopefuls are Coral Segovia, John Cobra, Lorena, Samuel y Patricia, Daniel Diges, Fran Dieli, Venus, Anabel Conde, José Galisteo and Ainhoa Cantalapiedra. In the last days they have made online meetings with the users of TVE's website. A live webcast of the final will be provided in the same site.
Ainhoa Arbizu will join Anne Igartiburu as host of the show. Both ladies have announced the Spanish points in past Eurovision Song Contest Finals. The director, Santiago Tabernero, has also directed the shows in 2008 and 2009.
The jury, which will account for 50% of the total vote, is made-up by five members, just like last year, and they are the popular actor Manuel Bandera, veteran journalist José María Iñigo, music producer Mariola Orellana, former head of the entertainment department of TVE Pilar Tabares and national radio personality Toni Garrido. The remaining 50% will be the result of the televote.
Three of the most popular former Spanish entrants will be the special guests of the show. Rosa who was the Spanish singer in 2002, Sergio Dalma who came 4th in 1991 and David Bustamante, who was one member of the all-star team of backing singers for Rosa in Tallin.
Spain has won Europe's favourite TV show twice in the past. It was in 1968 with Massiel's La, La, La and the following year in Madrid with Vivo Cantando by Salomé.
national selectionsnews2010Spaintu pais te necesita
Share this story