Skip to main content

Slovenia's choice: Quartissimo to Moscow!

01 February 2009 at 23:05 CET

The Slovenian final consisted of a two-hour spectacle from the capital of Ljubljana. Viewers on the web and on the Slovenian Channel 1 finally saw Quartissimo  as the winner with the song Love Symphony.

The final of EMA, the nationally very popular Slovenian selection, consisted of 14 entries – 8 from Saturday's semi-final and 6 automatic finalists from specifically invited composers. The result was decided in half by televoting and in half by a jury.

The full result of the final:

1. Quartissimo - Love Symphony: 19 points

2. Omar Naber - I Still Carry On: 16 points

=3. Aliya & Rudi - Zadnji Dan: 13 points

=3. Samuel Lucas - Vse Bi Zate Dal: 13 points

5. Langa & Manca Špik - Zaigraj Muzikant: 12 points

=6. Cuki - Mal' Naprej Pa Mal' Nazaj: 10 points

=6. Ne Me Jugat & Slavko Ivancic - Kaj Me Briga: 10 points

8. Nuška Drašcek - Kako Lepo: 8 points

=9. Lea Sirk - Znamenje Iz Sanj: 5 points

=9. Karmen Stavec - A Zi Zelis: 5 points

11. Eva Cerne - Vse: 3 points

12. Bjonde - Blonde Power: 2 points

=13. Brigita Suler - Druga Liga: 0 points

=13. Nexys - Vsaj Za En De: 0 points

The winning song Love Symphony is an up-tempo orchestrated pop song. The song is composed by Andrej Babić and Aleksandar Valenčić. Babić is responsible for several previous entries in the Eurovision Song Contest. He has represented four different countries: Croatia (Claudia's Više Nisam Tvoja, 15th place in 2003),  Bosnia-Herzegovina (Feminnem's Call Me, 14th place in 2005), Slovenia  (Alenka Gotar's Cvet Z Juga, 15th place in 2007), and Portugal (Vânia  Fernandes' Senhora Do Mar, 13th place in 2008). This year he also  participates in the Serbian national final Beovizija.

Quartissimo finished fourth in the televote but had the favour and 12 points of the jury. The viewers voted Langa & Manca Špik as number one, but their entry Zaigraj Muzikant recieved no points from the jury. Omar Naber, the 2005 Slovenian Eurovision representative, finished second overall. In previous years the voting of the jury and the televoters has disagreed on many occasions in EMA.

The interval acts during the final were performed by Natalija Verboten, Helena  Blagne, the 2008 Slovenian representative Rebeka Dremelj and the 2008 Eurovision winner  Dima Bilan. The reigning king of Eurovision performed his winning entry "Believe" and his hit song "Number One Fan".