Skip to content

Sinead Mulvey & Black Daisy for Ireland!

The final standings were:

1. Sinead Mulvey & Black Daisy - Et Cetera (written by Niall Mooney, Jonas Gladnikoff, Daniele Moretti and Christina Schilling)
2. Kristina Zaharova - I Wish I Could Pretend.
3. Laura-Jayne Hunter - Out Of Control.
4. Lee Bradshaw - So What.
5. Johnny Brady - Amazing.
6. M.N.A - Flying.

Et Cetera, the winning entry, is written by a multi-national constellation. Among the songwriters can be noted Jonas Gladnikoff from Sweden and Christina Schilling from Denmark. This duo also made a try for Moscow in the Danish final with the song Someday, performed by Hera Björk, which finished as the runner-up.

Tonight's show, called The Late Late Show Eurosong Special, was aired on RTÉ ONE television as well as over the Internet and was decided by in half by a regional jury vote and in half televoters. The regional juries were based in Cork, Limerick, Sligo and Dublin. The procedure echoes the change to this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, where national juries will have a say in the contest, sharing the decision equally with the televote.

The final was aired as part of the popular entertainment show The Late Late Show, as was done in 2006 and 2007. Pat Kenny, the host of the talk show, lead tonights spectacle. A panel was present during the evening, offering their opinions on the six songs. The three panel members were Eurovision Song Contest commentator Marty Whelan, the 1992 Eurovision Song Contest winner and head of the selection panel Linda Martin, and the well-known American talk show host Jerry Springer.

In 2008, Dustin the Turkey finished 15th in the first Semi-Final, thus failing to qualify Ireland for the final. Sinead Mulvey & Black Daisy will fly the Irish flag in the second semi-final in Moscow on Thursday 14th May.

Comments 💬