Skip to main content

Semi-Final participants drawn on January 17

03 January 2013 at 14:24 CET

Like the last years, it's in January when every country will know in which Semi-Final they will take part in. The event itself is called the Semi-Final Allocation Draw and will this year be held in the Old City Hall of Malmö at 14.00 CET.

At the event, every participating country will be drawn to one of the two Semi-Finals. Also, it'll be drawn which of the Semi-Finals the so-called Big 5 countries of Italy, France, the UK, Germany, Spain and the Host Country Sweden will broadcast and vote in.

The event will be a part of the Host City Insignia ceremony where the symbolic key will be handed over by the mayor of the previous Host City to the new one.

In total, 39 countries will take part in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö, Sweden. The running order will this year be decided by the producerd of the show instead of the traditional Running Order Draw. The latter was usually held in mid-March.