Skip to main content

Semi-Final allocation draw live on

22 January 2008 at 12:02 CET

The 38 countries represented in the Semi-Finals will be drawn from six pots, based on voting patterns between 2004 and 2007. Half of the countries in the six pots will be drawn into the first Semi-Final (on the 20th of May), the other half into the second Semi-Final (on the 22nd of May). The Semi-Final allocation draw will be carried out by famous Serbian sportsmen.

Željko Joksimović, who finished second at the 2004 Eurovision Song Contest with Lane Moje and composed Hari Mati Hari's 2006 Eurovision Song Contest entry Lejla for Bosnia & Herzegovina, will perform during the draw show. 

There will also be a draw to decide which of the two Semi-Finals the so-called 'Big Four' (France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom) and host country Serbia will be obliged to broadcast ánd vote. Joksimović will conduct this part of the draw.

The second draw, to decide upon the starting order of the songs in each Semi-Final and the Final, will be conducted - as usual - at the Heads of Delegation meeting on 17-18 March in Belgrade.