Skip to main content

Second Semi-Final: We have our ten qualifiers

24 May 2012 at 23:00 CEST

We have our ten winners:

The ten countries were revealed in the following order;

  • Lithuania
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine
  • Sweden
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Estonia
  • Malta
  • Turkey

Before the show

The excitement was building up both outside and inside the arena prior the Second Semi-Final, as the clock approached midnight local time in Baku.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

This content is unfortunately no longer available

The hosts of the show are Nargiz Birk-Petersen, Eldar Gasimov who won the Eurovision last year as part of Ell/Nikki and Leyla Alieva who are all eager to welcome the millions of viewers to Baku for tonight's show!

The Contenders

The eighteen acts competing in the Second Semi-Final of the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest are:

  1. Serbia: Nije Ljubav Stvar sung by Željko Joksimović
  2. FYR Macedonia: Crno E Belo sung by Kaliopi
  3. The Netherlands: You And Me sung by Joan Franka
  4. Malta: This Is The Night sung by Kurt Calleja
  5. Belarus: We Are The Heroes sung by Litesound
  6. Portugal: Vida Minha sung by Filipa Sousa
  7. Ukraine: Be My Guest sung by Gaitana
  8. Bulgaria: Love Unlimited sung by Sofi Marinova
  9. Slovenia: Verjamem sung by Eva Boto
  10. Croatia: Nebo sung by Nina Badrić
  11. Sweden: Euphoria sung by Loreen
  12. Georgia: I'm A Joker sung by Anri Jokhadze
  13. Turkey: Love Me Back sung by Can Bonomo
  14. Estonia: Kuula sung by Ott Lepland
  15. Slovakia: Don't Close Your Eyes sung by Max Jason Mai
  16. Norway: Stay sung by Tooji
  17. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Korake Ti Znam sung by Maya Sar
  18. Lithuania: Love Is Blind sung by Donny Montell

You can find more information about tonight's participants on our event page for the Second Semi-Final.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

A tour around Azerbaijan

The postcards in between the performances portray Azerbaijan from many different perspectives.Prior to each song the lights on the Crystal Hall change to the colours of the flag of the country that follows.

The voting

After all of the contestants have performed. The 18 countries will  televote, as well as viewers in France, Germany and the United Kingdom. The votes from the professional jury will then be combined with the televote which will then determine the 10 songs to qualify.

Five previous winners

The interval act comprises the last five winners of the Eurovision Song Contest, namely  Marija Šerifović, Dima Bilan, Alexander Rybak, Lena, and Ell & Nikki. Each of them  accompanied by traditional Azeri instruments - a tar, a kemancha, a naghara, a saz, and a balaban. The five acts team up to sing Waterloo together, the song which brought the victory to Sweden's legendary ABBA in 1974.

Watch the whole show via our ESCTV player, We will post the results of the ten qualifiers as soon as they are announced.