The official website of the Eurovision Song Contest
Lisbon, Portugal
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Eurovision Song Contest
Official partner
The Native

Second Semi Final: The Qualifiers

Posted 14 May, 2009, 23:07

The show was broadcast live from the Olimpiyskiy Arena in Moscow, and just like the First Semi-Final, it was presented by Natalia Vodyanova and Andrey Malakhov. The theme of the Second Semi-Final was that of modern people and comedy and irony, and the stereotypes people still have about Russia and Russians. The atmosphere inside the arena was electric, an array of different flags and colours being waved in every corner.
Nine qualifying countries were picked by televoting, and a tenth finalist was selected by the national juries all over Europe, unless of course the top ten matched exactly with the televoting and juries, this will not be confirmed immediately. All the countries represented in the Second Semi-Final were voting, as well as France, Russia and Spain. This is the list of countries that qualified in the order they were announced (the full results and placings will be revealed after the Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest)
  • Azerbaijan
  • Croatia
  • Ukraine
  • Lithuania
  • Albania
  • Moldova
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Norway
  • Greece
This now means that we have the full list of 25 finalists for Saturday evening's show which starts at 21.00 CET. Stay tuned to for coverage of tonight's winners press conference very shortly to determine which places in the Final draw tonight's qualifiers will occupy. You can watch the winner's press conference live online.
{ImageGallery#ID: 2615}
Can't wait for the DVD, and already want to watch the Semi Finals again? Visit where you can watch both shows and Winners' press conferences.
AlbaniaAzerbaijanCroatiaCyprusDenmarkEstoniaGreeceHungaryIrelandLatviaLithuaniaMoldovaNorwayPolandSerbiaSlovakiaSloveniaThe NetherlandsUkraine2009Moscownewssecond semi-final
Share this story