Skip to main content

Second Semi-Final: The Qualifiers

23 May 2008 at 01:00 CEST

The representatives of nineteen countries have presented their songs tonight in the Second Semi-Final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest. The theme of the show, presented by Jovana Janković and Željko Joksimović, The theme of the Second Semi-Final was "Water". During one particular break, a viedo clip showing Serbian tennis star Ana Ivanovic welcomed viewers to her home city of Belgrade. After all songs had been presented, televoting started in all the participating countries as well as in Serbia, France and the United Kingdom., who are already qualified for the Final, but were drawn to vote in the Second Semi-Final. Nine of the qualifying countries were decided by televoting. Furthermore, the highest placed song in the result of the national backup juries which was not yet qualified through televoting got a place in the Final as well. However, the TV public will only find out which country this was after the Final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest on Saturday.

The qualifiers

The following countries have qualified for the Final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest (in order of announcement):

  • Ukraine
  • Croatia
  • Albania
  • Iceland
  • Georgia
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Latvia
  • Turkey
  • Portugal