Skip to main content

Running order of the Semi-Finals revealed

08 April 2016 at 10:00 CEST
The running order of the Semi-Finals of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest has been unveiled by Host Broadcaster SVT. Following the same format that has been in place since 2013, producers decided the running order to ensure that each song stands out and to create a more exciting television show. The decision was approved by the EBU Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand and the Chairman of the Reference Group, Dr. Frank Dieter Freiling.

My goal is to give every song maximum space so it’s surrounded by other songs that make it stand out and shine for three minutes. This also reduces the anxiety surrounding where a country is placed in the running order. Wherever the artist is singing they have a chance to be noticed, said Christer Björkman, Contest Producer for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.  

In January the Semi-Final Allocation Draw took place, determining the countries that will participate in each of the two Semi-Finals of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. The draw also decided which of the six pre-qualified countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and host country Sweden) will broadcast and vote in which Semi-Final. Further details can be found here. 

The ambition is to make the starting order and thereby the live shows as interesting as possible for the viewers. This was also the reason for the change of rules three years ago, as the draw of lots made it possible for several similar songs to be placed after each other, Christer Björkman explained.    

After the producers reviewed all entries, the following running order was decided on for the Semi-Finals in 2016:

Semi-Final 1

1. Finland

2. Greece

3. Moldova

4. Hungary

5. Croatia

6. The Netherlands

7. Armenia

8. San Marino

9. Russia

10. Czech Republic

11. Cyprus

12. Austria

13. Estonia

14. Azerbaijan

15. Montenegro

16. Iceland

17. Bosnia & Herzegovina

18. Malta

Semi-Final 2

1. Latvia

2. Poland

3. Switzerland

4. Israel

5. Belarus

6. Serbia

7. Ireland

8. FYR Macedonia

9. Lithuania

10. Australia

11. Slovenia

12. Bulgaria

13. Denmark

14. Ukraine

15. Norway

16. Georgia

17. Albania

18. Belgium

The running order for the Grand Final will be decided after the second Semi-Final. The first Semi-Final has 18 participants and will be held on 10th May while the second with 19 contestants takes place on 12th May. The Grand Final of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Saturday 14th May.