Skip to main content

Which countries will perform in which Semi-Final at Eurovision 2018?

29 January 2018 at 13:45 CET
The stage of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest RTP
The Semi-Final Allocation Draw to determine which country will participate in which Semi-Final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest has taken place in Lisbon's City Hall.

The Semi Final Allocation Draw for Eurovision 2018 was hosted by Sílvia Alberto and Filomena Cautela who form half of the presenting team for Eurovision 2018. The draw, along with the Host City Insignia Exchange are key milestones in the preparations for the Eurovision Song Contest. During the ceremony, the Mayor of Kyiv, Vitali Klitschko, handed over the Host City Insignia to Fernando Medina, Mayor of Lisbon. The Portuguese capital is now officially the Host City of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest!

How does it work? 

The first part of the draw determined in which Semi-Final each of the six pre-qualified countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and host country Portugal) will broadcast and vote. 

At the request Italian broadcaster broadcaster RAI, and following approval from the Reference Group, the governing body of the Eurovision Song Contest, Italy will broadcast and vote in the Second Semi-Final on Thursday 10th May. France and Germany were drawn to vote in the Second Semi-Final. Spain, the United Kingdom and Portugal will vote in the First Semi-Final. 

The second draw then decided in which semi-final each of the other participating countries will perform. 19 countries will compete in the first Semi-Final and 18 will participate in the second on 8th May and 10th May respectively. 

The 37 Semi-Finalists were allocated into six pots, based on historical voting patterns as calculated by the contest's official televoting partner Digame: 

The results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw

First Semi-Final

First half

  • Albania 
  • Azerbaijan 
  • Belarus 
  • Belgium 
  • Bulgaria 
  • Czech Republic 
  • Estonia 
  • Iceland 
  • Israel 
  • Lithuania  

Second half

  • Armenia 
  • Austria 
  • Croatia 
  • Cyprus 
  • Finland 
  • F.Y.R. Macedonia 
  • Greece 
  • Ireland 
  • Switzerland  

Second Semi-Final

First half

  • Australia 
  • Denmark 
  • Norway 
  • Moldova 
  • Romania 
  • Russia 
  • San Marino 
  • Serbia 
  • The Netherlands  

Second half  

  • Hungary 
  • Georgia 
  • Malta 
  • Montenegro 
  • Latvia 
  • Poland 
  • Slovenia 
  • Sweden 
  • Ukraine