Skip to main content

Results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw

17 January 2011 at 17:40 CET

To assure maximum suspense, the 38 countries represented in the Semi-Finals were drawn from six pots, based on voting patterns of 2010. After all, viewers can only vote for the other countries that take part in that respective Semi-Final. 

It also be decided if a country participates in the first or second half of the respective Semi-Final, so that delegations know well in advance on which day they are expected in Düsseldorf for their first stage rehearsal.

After a draw, the countries will perform in these Semi-Finals (and in these halves):

First Semi-Final

First half

  • Albania 
  • Armenia 
  • Finland 
  • Georgia 
  • Norway 
  • Poland 
  • Russia 
  • Serbia 
  • Switzerland 
  • Turkey 

Second half

  • Azerbaijan 
  • Croatia 
  • Greece 
  • Hungary 
  • Iceland 
  • Lithuania 
  • Malta 
  • Portugal 
  • San Marino

Second Semi-Final

First half

  • Austria 
  • Belgium 
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina 
  • Cyprus 
  • Moldova 
  • Slovakia 
  • Sweden 
  • The Netherlands 
  • Ukraine  

Second half

  • Belarus 
  • Bulgaria 
  • Denmark 
  • Estonia 
  • FYR Macedonia 
  • Ireland 
  • Israel 
  • Latvia 
  • Romania 
  • Slovenia

Israeli broadcaster IBA has asked to EBU to grant them a spot in the second Semi-Final, due to their memorial day on the 10th of May. German Host Broadcaster NDR asked the EBU to allocate them to broadcast and vote in the second Semi-Final for scheduling reasons. Both requests have been granted.

Five countries have already qualified for the Final of the Eurovision Song Contest, being United Kingdom, France, Germany (the Host Country), Spain and making their return after 13 years - Italy. As a total of 25 countries will take part in the Final, then 10 from each Semi-Final will qualify for it. They are obliged to broadcast and vote in (as drawn):

  • Spain (first Semi-Final)
  • United Kingdom (first Semi-Final)
  • France (second Semi-Final)
  • Germany (second Semi-Final)
  • Italy (second Semi-Final)

Also, check out how the event looked like in Düsseldorf!

This content is unfortunately no longer available

The Semi-Finalists were drawn from six pots, which were as follows:

Pot 1: Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Pot 2: Denmark, Estonia, Finland,Iceland,Norway,Sweden

Pot 3: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Israel, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine

Pot 4: Armenia, Belgium, Cyprus, Greece, The Netherlands, Turkey

Pot 5: Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Portugal, Romania

Pot 6: Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia

The next draw, to decide upon the starting order of the songs in each Semi-Final and the Final, will be conducted - as usual - at the Heads of Delegation meeting in March.