Skip to main content

Reference Group meets in Geneva

25 June 2013 at 22:15 CEST

On Monday, Swedish broadcaster SVT presented its first evaluation on the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest they hosted, while the EBU presented to the contest's governing body details on the ratings, voting and online activities.

On Tuesday, the core team of Danish broadcaster DR presented itself to the Reference Group and explained their way of working in the weeks and months to come, as they are in the process of selecting a host city and venue for the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

Pernille Gaardbo, newly appointed Executive Producer at DR, joined the Reference Group as member for the first time.

The group also discussed the status of the ongoing investigation into allegations around the voting of the Eurovision Song Contest.

"Together with our voting partner Digame we are systematically and adequately investigating this matter, as you may always expect when such stories arise, and we will continue to do this over the weeks and months to come," says Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the contest on behalf of the EBU.

The conclusions from this investigation, if concrete, will be reflected in future improvements. Earlier, Reference Group chairman Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling stated: "If we find any clear evidence that the Rules are being breached, including attempts of power-voting, we act immediately to do what we are obliged to do on behalf of the Members; to protect the Eurovision Song Contest brand."

In its new compilation, the Reference Group consists of Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling (chairman), Jon Ola Sand (EBU Executive Supervisor), Pernille Gaardbo (2014 Executive Producer from DR), Martin Österdahl (2013 Executive Producer from SVT), Thomas Schreiber (2011 Executive Producer from NDR, as replacement for 2012 Executive Producer Adil Karimli, who is no longer with Ictimai TV), Aleksander Radić (elected member from RTVSLO), Christer Björkman (elected member from SVT) and Nicola Caligiore (elected member from RAI).