Skip to main content

Rasmussen wins Melodi Grand Prix in Denmark

10 February 2018 at 22:05 CET
Rasmussen's winning moment at DMGP in Denmark DR
Rasmussen has won the 2018 edition of the Danish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest, 'Dansk Melodi Grand Prix' with the song Higher Ground. The show took place in Aalborg and was hosted by Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark.

After an exciting show in Aalborg, Denmark, Rasmussen has won Dansk Melodi Grand Prix and will represent Denmark in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Rasmussen was crowned the winner after two rounds of voting, using a combination of public and jury votes. In a format change for this year, applicants were asked to pay particular attention to stage performance and visuals right from the beginning when they submitted their prospective entries. Ten acts participated in the show which was co-hosted by Johannes Nymark who represented Denmark in Eurovision 2016 as part of Lighthouse X

The finalists 

  • Ditte Marie – Riot
  • Anna Ritsmar – Starlight
  • Rasmussen – Higher Ground
  • Sannie – Boys on Girls
  • Sandra – Angels To My Battlefield
  • Lasse Meling – Unfound
  • Carlsen – Standing Up For Love
  • KARUI – Signals
  • Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – Holder Fast i Ingenting
  • Albin Fredy – Music For The Road

One of the participants, Sannie, better known internationally as Whigfield, had a huge international hit in 1994 with the song Saturday Night. She released several singles after which also charted across Europe.

About Rasmussen

Jonas Flodager Rasmussen - or Rasmussen -  is 32 years old, raised in Viborg and currently lives in Langå. He performs with his cover band Hair Metal Heröes, and has participated in well-known national musicals in Denmark. Rasmussen also teaches at the Performing Arts School at Viborg Cultural School. His win tonight was with the song Higher Ground, written and composed by Niclas Arn & Karl Eurén. 

Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest

Denmark first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and has won the competition three times in total in 1963, 2000 and 2013. The country still holds the record for hosting the Eurovision Song Contest in the largest venue ever back in 2001.

In 2013 the Eurovision Song Contest was held in Sweden, and as happened in Stockholm in 2000, Denmark won the competition. Emmelie de Forest's Only Teardrops won both the jury and televote in Malmö and took the competition to Copenhagen once again. Read more about Denmark's Eurovision history.