Skip to main content

Portugal introduces hopefuls for a ticket to Tel Aviv

22 January 2019 at 14:03 CET
Portugal's finalists for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest RTP
Portuguese broadcaster RTP has released details about the upcoming Festival da Canção, their national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest. This year's edition will feature sixteen acts in total and consist of two semi-finals on the 16th and 23rd of February and a grand final which will be held on the 2nd March.

The two semi-finals will each feature eight songs. Four songs from each Semi-Final will proceed to the Grand Final in March. In the final where eight entries will battle for the right to represent Portugal in Tel Aviv in May.

Listen to all the songs:

Semi-final 1 - 16 February:

Calema – A Dois

Conan Osíris – Telemóveis

Ana Cláudia – Inércia

João Campos – É O Que É

Filipe Keil – Hoje

Ela Limão – Mais Brilhante Que Mil Sóis

Soraia Tavares – O Meu Sonho

Matay – Perfeito

Hosts: Sónia Araújo and Tânia Ribas de Oliveira.

Semi-final 2 - 23 February:

Lara Laquiz – O Lugar

Madrepaz – Mundo A Mudar

Mariana Bragada – Mar Doce

Dan Riverman – Lava

NBC – Igual A Ti

Mila Dores – Debaixo Do Luar

João Couto – O Jantar

Surma – Pugna

Hosts: Jorge Gabriel and José Carlos Malato.

The grand final will be hosted by Vasco Palmeirim and Filomena Cautela. You might recognize Filomena, as she was one of the four hosts of the Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon in May 2018. 

Who would you like to see represent Portugal this year? Let us know in the comments!