Pirates Of The Sea to Belgrade for Latvia

Twenty songs were selected by national broadcaster LTV, out of the 88 songs submitted. Each of the two semi-finals featured ten songs. Five songs from each semi-final were eventually selected by televote and went on to tonight's final. The final consisted of two stages. The first stage will by televote eliminate seven of the songs, and thereby three songs were left to compete in the so-called super-final; Aisha, the group Pirates Of The Sea and Andris Ērglis. 

Tonight's final featured many selected 2008 Eurovision Song Contest entrants, such as representatives from Azerbaijan, Lithuania, Malta and Czech Republic. Former Latvian Eurovision Song Contest participants Martins Freimans (2003), Walters (2005) and Bonaparti.lv (2007) performed as well.

The results

  1. Pirates Of The Sea - Wolves Of The Sea
  2. Aisha - You Really Got Me Going
  3. Andris Ērglis - Broken Lullaby 

Total televoting results are expected to be revealed at a later stage.

Lyrics of the winning song are written by Johan Sahlen, music from Jonas Liberg, Johan Sahlen, Claes Andreasson and Torbjorn Wassenius. One of the members of the group, Roberto Meloni, was also a member of last year's Latvian representatives Bonaparti.lv.

The Pirates Of The Sea will be participating in the second Semi-Final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest, on the 22nd of May. 

Comments 💬

Related stories

It's a walk in the (Triana) Park for Latvia in 2017!

3 years ago

2021 artists to record song “live-on-tape” to ensure Contest will happen

1 month ago
Ruslana opening the Grand Final in 2005

#EurovisionAgain travels back to Ukraine 2005

3 months ago