Pete Waterman to write United Kingdom entry

Today in a press release from the BBC, it was announced that successful hit-maker Pete Waterman would write and produce this year's entry for the United Kingdom.

Waterman has been responsible for over 200 hits, working with famous artists such as Kylie Minogue, Donna Summer, Geri Halliwell, Westlife, Rick Astley and Steps. He has also worked with the United Kingdom's 1993 entrant, Sonia.

Waterman seems upbeat about his selection and said: "Eurovision is one of those iconic competitions that has stood the test of time and keeps coming up with great acts, great tunes and great performances. Life's full of challenges and I'm relishing the opportunity to put my own stamp on this one."

Commenting on the recruitment of Pete Waterman, BBC executive producer, Phil Parsons said: "This year, with an extremely successful pop writer, the aim is to build on the UK's success while moving on in style and doing something different. Pete Waterman has an incredible track record of hits that are known all around Europe so we're thrilled that he has taken on the Eurovision Song Contest."

In 2009, after a string of bad results, the BBC decided to change its approach to selecting the British entry and recruited Lord Andrew Lloyd-Webber (and Diane Warren, in the end) to write a song and help to choose the artist to perform it. After a series of live-shows where various artists battled it out, Jade Ewen was chosen to represent her country. She achieved a respectable fifth place in Moscow with the song My Time. It launched her career as a member of the highly successful Sugababes. Read more about that in our article about Jade Ewen's career developments.

The BBC are yet to announce whether or not this year's selection format will follow that of 2009 but we will post any announcement here in due course.




Comments 💬

Related stories
United Kingdom 2019 second rehearsal

UK: BBC announces new internal selection process for 2020

1 year ago
Eurovision: You Decide 2019 - Hosts Mel Giedroyc and Måns Zelmerlöw

Tonight: Who will win the United Kingdom's ticket to Tel Aviv?

1 year ago
Rylan Clark-Neal, the BBC's new Semi-Final co-commentator

Meet Rylan, the new BBC Semi-Final co-commentator

2 years ago