Skip to content
Participants in the Spanish Final for Eurovision 2019
Participants in the Spanish Final for Eurovision 2019
Photo: RTVE

Tonight: Who will triumph for Spain?

Tonight in Barcelona, the first 'Big Five' country will pick their participant for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. Four months after the latest season of the tv show 'Operación Triunfo' started, nine participants have the chance of becoming the Spanish act in Tel Aviv.

The Spanish TV viewers will decide tonight, via televoting, who will represent the country at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv. The show will be a special Eurovision Gala of the popular reality tv talent show, Operación Triunfo (OT).

The participants

Tonight, ten songs will be performed by nine artists. Three of the songs were chosen by voters on broadcaster RTVE's website:

  • María - Muérdeme (Bite me). Written by Juan Luis Suárez, David Feito, Victoria Riba, Nuria Azzouzi & Rosa Martínez.
  • Noelia - Hoy Vuelvo A Reir Otra Vez (Today I'm laughing again). Written by Jacobo Calderón & Álex Ubago.
  • Natalia - La Clave (The key). Written by Merche, Ander Pérez, Nuria Azzouzi & Rosa Martínez.

The remaining seven were selected by a committee from a total of fourteen songs:

  • Sabela - Hoy Soñaré (I'll dream today). Written by Jesús Cañadilla & Alejandro de Pinedo.
  • Miki - La Venda (The blindfold). Written by Adriá Salas (from the band La Pegatina).
  • Miki y Natalia - Nadie Se Salva (Nobody is safe). Written by María Peláez, Nil Moliner & Javi Garabatto.
  • Famous - No puedo más (I can't take it anymore). Written by Leroy Sánchez, Louis Biancaniello & Nolan Sipe.
  • Julia - Qué quieres que haga (What do you want me to do?). Written by David Santisteban & India Martínez
  • Carlos Right - Se Te Nota (It shows). compuesta por Juan Pablo Isaza & Juan Pablo Villamil (from the band Morat)
  • Marilia - Todo Bien (Everything's OK). Written by Sananda, Chris Wahle, Andreas Öhrn & Juan Carlos Fuguet López. 

International guests

The show will feature guest performances by international artists such as Eleni Foureira, Cyprus's second-ranked representative from the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

Cyprus rehearsal
Cyprus rehearsal © Andres Putting

In addition, the jury, which only assesses the potential of the candidates will be made up of: Manuel Martos (OT weekly juror), Pastora Soler (who represented Spain in 2012), Tony Aguilar (one of Spain's TV commentators for Eurovision) and Doron Medalie, composer of the winning song in Lisbon last year, Toy, performed by Netta.

Who do you think should win tonight and fly to Tel Aviv in May? Let us know in the comments!