NRK reveals first Norwegian semi-final participants

An exciting line up will compete for the right to perform at the final in Oslo Spektrum on the 6th of February. Artists include Norway's 2008 Eurovision Song Contest participant, Maria Haukaas Storeng, Lena Alexandra Øien, and heavy metal band Keep of Kalessin.

The first semi-final will take place on the 8th of January at the home of Norway's Air Force, Ørland Hovedflystasjon, which is located about 100 km north-west of Trondheim.

The songs, artists and composers are as follows:

Synk eller svøm
Performed by: Gaute Ormåsen
Music & lyrics: Gaute Ormåsen, Laila Samuelsen, Kim Bergseth

Prima Donna
Performed by: Lena Alexandra Øien
Music: Lena Alexandra Øien, Jarl Aanestad
Lyrics: Lena Alexandra Øien, Jarl Aanestad, Simon Walker

Rewind Love
Performed by: Johnny Hide
Music & lyrics: Julian Berntzen

Yes Man
Performed by: Bjørn Johan Muri
Music & lyrics: Simone Larsen, Simen Eriksrud, Bjørn Johan Muri

Performed by: Elisabeth Carew
Music & lyrics: Elsabeth Carew & Thomas Eriksen

Make My Day
Performed by: Maria Haukaas Storeng
Music: Merethe La Verdi
Lyrics: Merethe La Verdi, Mats Lie Skåre

The Dragontower
Performed by: Keep Of Kalessin
Music: Arnt Obsidian Grønbech
Lyrics: Arnt Obsidian Grønbech, Torbjørn Schei, Vegar Larsen, Robin Isaksen

Two songs from each of the three semi-finals will qualify directly for the final, with two further songs being entered into the so-called second-chance round, where a further two songs will be selected to compete in the final line-up.

Due to Alexander Rybak's win in 2009, the winner of the Norwegian national final will be directly qualified to the final of the 55th Eurovision Song Contest, to be held in Oslo, Norway on the 29th of May.


Comments 💬

Related stories
Pictures from the Norwegian national selection for Eurovision 2018, 'Melodi Grand Prix'

Norway, that's how to write a song - Rybak returns!

2 years ago
Hosts Kåre Magnus Bergh and Silya Nymoen

Tonight: Norway selects a song for Stockholm!

5 years ago

Norway: 10 acts to compete in Melodi Grand Prix 2016

5 years ago