Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Norwegian National Final participants revealed

Posted 21 January 2015 at 12:08

Today it was revealed which artists will perform the 11 entries that will compete for the Norwegian people’s votes during this year’s Norwegian National Final, Melodi Grand Prix, at the Oslo Spektrum Arena. For the first time since 2005, Melodi Grand Prix will be broadcast without Semi-Finals, and the Norwegian Broadcasting Orchestra (KORK) will also make a triumphant return for the first time since 1998. The presenters whose task it is to guide the audience through the evening are Kåre Magnus Bergh and Silya Nymoen.
The winner of MGP 2015 will represent Norway at the 60th Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna in May.

The 11 Finalists

Below is a list of the 11 finalists taking part in Melodi Grand Prix 2015 (in random order). You can listen to 15 second clips of each song on NRK's website.
Song: Cinderella Artist: Alexandra Joner Lyrics/Music: Erik Smaaland, Kristoffer Tømmerbakke (GoToGuy)
Song: Heaven Artist: Contrazt Lyrics/Music: Jan Lysdahl, Jacob Collin Launbjerg
Song: Thunderstruck Artist: Erlend Bratland Lyrics: Erlend Bratland, Linnea Deb Music: Joy Deb, Linnea Deb
Song: We Don't Worry Artist: Ira Konstantinidis Lyrics: Ali Pirzad, Julie Bergan Music: Øyvind Blikstad, Bjarte Giske
Song: Next to You Artist: Jenny Langlo Lyrics/Music: Jenny Langlo, Robin Mortensen Lynch, Niklas Olovson
Song: Human Beings Artist: Karin Park Lyrics/Music: Karin Park, Guy Chambers
Song: Ta meg tilbake Artist: Marie Klåpbakken Lyrics/Music: Marie Klåpbakken, Linn Hege Sagen, Olav Tronsmoen
Song: A Monster Like Me Artist: Mørland & Debrah Scarlett Lyrics/Music: Kjetil Mørland
Song: Louder Artist: Raylee Lyrics/Music: Andreas Stone Johansson & Ricky Hanley
Song: En godt stekt pizza Artist: Staysman & Lazz Lyrics/Music: Stian Thorbjørnsen, Petter Kristiansen, Lars-Erik Blokkhus, Jesper Borgen, Magnus Clausen
Song: All Over the World Artist: Tor & Bettan Lyrics/Music: Are Selheim, Tor Endresen

The most entries since 2010

“This year’s songs have been chosen from among the more than 800 entries, an amount we haven’t seen since the year after Alexander Rybak won the Eurovision Song Contest! The task of choosing the songs that go straight to a big final has made us evaluate each and every entry even more carefully”, says Vivi Stenberg, who is responsible for music at Melodi Grand Prix.
In addition to Vivi Stenberg, the jury that chose this year’s Melodi Grand Prix entries was made up of: Marie Komissar, presenter and music producer; Tarjei Strøm, musician and presenter; Kathrine Synnes Finnskog, director of Music Norway.

Big names return

Among the list of participants are some big names including the one and only Elisabeth "Bettan" Andreassen, who has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest an impressive four times: in 1982 for Sweden, and in 1985, 1994 and 1996 for Norway! In 1985 she, as part of the duo Bobbysocks, became Norway's first ever winner of the Eurovision Song Contest with the song La Det Swinge. In 1996 she came second on home turf in Oslo with the song I Evighet.
This year Bettan will perform a due together with Tor Endresen, who has entered the Norwegian national selection many times, finally earning the right to represent his country in Dublin in 1997 with the song San Francisco. Unfortunately, he failed to gain a single point...
A more contemporary name participating in Melodi Grand Prix this year is Swedish artist Karin Park, who was responsible for Margaret Berger's song I Feed You My Love, which achieved a very respectable 4th place.
news2015national selectionNRKNorwayMelodi Grand PrixOsloartists
Share this story